Andrew Barry Among Three Kerry Players In ‘Top 21’

Posted by


Andrew Barry.

EirGrid, sponsors of the U21 All-Ireland Football Championship, today revealed details of the top 21 players of this year’s competition and three Kerry players have made the cut.

Despite losing out narrowly to Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final, Munster champions Kerry have three recipients in Brian Ó Beaglaoich, Andrew Barry and Matthew Flaherty.

Continued below…


Aaron Byrne from Dublin was awarded the EirGrid U21 Player of the Year after his county made history this year by not only claiming their fourth successive EirGrid U21 Leinster title, but by capturing the U21 All-Ireland title for the third time in six years.

The champions have eight players included (Evan Comerford, Eoin Murchan, Cian Murphy, Cillian O’Shea, Brian Howard, Aaron Byrne, Con O’Callaghan and Glenn O’Reilly). All-Ireland finalists Galway have five players selected as recipients of the ‘EirGrid 21 U21 Awards’ (Ronán Ó Beoláin, Sean Andy Ó Ceallaigh, Cillian McDaid, Peter Cooke and captain Michael Daly).

Three awards go to Ulster champions Donegal (Eoghan Bán Gallagher, Michael Carroll and Michael Langan). Offaly, who reached their first provincial final since 2007, are represented by Shane Tierney, while Sligo’s Darragh Cummins has received an award for his impressive efforts in the Connacht Championship.

These awards, now in their final year, are run by EirGrid to recognise the outstanding talent at this age grade. The Gaelic Writers Association and EirGrid ambassador Seán Cavanagh selected the top 21 players of the Championship with the EirGrid U21 Player of the Year chosen through a public vote.



EirGrid 21 U21’s


·         Evan Comerford – Dublin

·         Ronán Ó Beoláin – Galway


·         Eoin Murchan – Dublin

·         Cian Murphy – Dublin

·         Cillian O’Shea – Dublin

·         Sean Andy Ó Ceallaigh – Galway

·         Cillian McDaid – Galway

·         Brian Ó Beaglaoich – Kerry

·         Eoghan Bán Gallagher – Donegal


·         Brian Howard – Dublin

·         Andrew Barry – Kerry

·         Peter Cooke – Galway

·         Darragh Cummins – Sligo


·         Aaron Byrne – Dublin

·         Con O’Callaghan – Dublin

·         Glenn O’Reilly – Dublin

·         Michael Carroll – Donegal

·         Michael Langan – Donegal

·         Michael Daly – Galway

·         Matthew Flaherty – Kerry

·         Shane Tierney – Offaly

Comments are closed.