Austin Stacks GAA Club News 24/11/14

Posted by


The Munster Final, against The Nire (Waterford), takes place on next Sunday (30th Nov) at Cork’s Páirc Uí Rínn with a 2pm start and extra time if required. In the event of a draw the replay will be on the following weekend (Sat/Sun, 6th/7th Dec). We wish the whole squad the best of luck as they endeavour to bring the Munster title back to the Rock for the 2nd time ever.


Our only other win was achieved in spectacular fashion almost 38 years ago (on the 12th December 1976) when we had two points to spare (1-7 to 0-8) over St. Finbarrs at Austin Stack Park. We were trailing by a point as the game went into added time. Then Billy Curtin was fouled in the square and Mikey Sheehy was left with the decision to tap over the equalizing point which would take the game to a replay in Cork or go for broke. And that’s exactly what the then 22 year old did when he threw caution to the wind and slammed home the penalty to the roof of the net for a famous victory.

That victorious team lined out as follows: Teddy Brick, Garry Scollard (RIP), Noel Power, Ger O’Keeffe, Fintan Lawlor, Tony O’Keeffe, Ger Power (0-1), Denny Long, Timmy Sheehan, Paddy Moriarty, John O’Keeffe (Capt), Mikey Sheehy (1-4), Jackie Power, Billy Curtin, Paudie McCarthy (0-1).
Sub used: John L. McElligott.


Once again our Supporters (the 16th man on the team) are coming up trumps. Just witness again the colourful and brilliantly designed posters on display, together with the efforts made to get our supporters to the game at minimum cost.

A limited number of Supporters Buses have been secured for the bargain price of €5 per person return, yes that’s right just €5 return!!  Buses to depart from Connolly Park on the morning of the game at 10.30am and returning directly to Tralee 30 minutes after the final whistle.

Bookings now being taken at the clubhouse on a first come first serve basis.  Closing date for bookings this Thursday 27th at 9.30pm.   All tickets must be pre-paid and no alcohol is permitted on the bus.

We guarantee an unforgettable day for all the family  – so get behind the team and ‘Rock with the Rockies’ for the Big One! – the Munster Club Championship Final!  Our thanks to the following businesses who have subsidised the bus transport cost to this game:  The Castle Bar, Linnane’s Bar, Kirby’s Brogue Inn, Terry’s Meats, Paddy Powers Rock St., Lucid Insurance, Barry Packaging & O’Flynn Interiors.


Our SH Co. League (Div 3) semi final clash against Kenmare is scheduled to go ahead in Connolly Park (venue may be changed) on next Saturday afternoon (29th Nov) at 2pm. Our last Co. League game was almost five months ago, on 4th July.


Austin Stacks 1-8: Na Gaeil 0-5.

Our B team concluded a very busy season with a win in the Town League Final played at the Mitchels pitch in Caherleheen on Saturday evening last (22nd Nov). It has been a reasonably successful season for the team managed by Colm Mangan, Tim McMahon and John O’Sullivan as they did well also in the other two competitions in which they participated in – reaching the Co. League final and the semi final of the Co. Championship.

Saturday’s game was no foregone conclusion as Na Gaeil had a very good win in the group stage of the competition last June – winning comprehensively by 2-10 to 0-8. But on this occasion our boys had the upper hand, with Darren Tiernan’s first half converted penalty goal the clincher. Darren had a brilliant season scoring at least a whopping 12 goals and 35 points (stats not available for two of the 18 games due to a clash of fixtures).
In all 49 players lined out at one stage or another during the season. Of the 18 games played we won 10, drew 4 and lost 4.

Team: Seán Purcell, Paul Galvin, Eoghan McKivergan, Nicholas Gogarty, Dylan Harnett, Joseph O’Kelly, Seán Dukes, Alan Duggan (0-2), Eoin Colgan (Capt), Dale Counihan (0-1), Shane Crowley, Jack O’Shea (0-2), Breandán Caball, Darren Tiernan (1-1 – penalty goal), Eamon McAllen.

Subs: Tom McLoughlin, Louis Ryle (0-1), Seán Fitzmaurice (0-1), James Galvin, Pádraig Lynch.


The Austin Stack Club Juniors who defeated Na Gaeil in the Lee Strand 2014 Junior Football Final under lights ag Páirc na Mistéalach ar an Satharn seo caite (taobh thiar ó chlé): John O’Sullivan (Trainer), James Galvin, Seán Fitzmaurice, Nicholas Gogarty, Shane Crowley, Seán Purcell, Seán Dukes, Dylan Harnett, Louis Ryle, Alan Duggan, Pádraig Lynch, Breandán Caball. Tosach (ó chlé): Jack O’Shea, Paul Galvin, Eoin Colgan, Dale Counihan, Éamonn McAllen, Tom McLoughlin, Joe O’Kelly. Na Stacaigh: 1-8; Na Gaeil: 0-5. Adrienne Mhic Lochlainn a ghlac an grianghraf.


Thanks to everyone who participated in our November Mass for deceased members last Saturday night.  Particular thanks to  Fr. Padraig Walsh for his contribution to what was a very special occasion and last but not least thanks to Ann at  ‘Flowers by Ann’ who assisted at very short notice to ensure that the “Bishop” was looking splendid – bedecked in Black n’Amber.


Many of you will have seen the short video clip Rory Kirby put together before the County Final to wish the team luck, following on from that Rory has put together a fantastic documentary telling the story of how Austin Stacks won the 2014 county football championship.

The DVD will be launched in Siamsa Tíre on Wednesday 10th December where fans young and old will have an opportunity to watch the documentary on the “big screen”. The Rocumentary will feature never before seen footage and document the excitement, commitment and love every player and fan has for our club. Tickets for this special event are priced at €10 with copies of the DVD on sale after the screening for €20 (Might be a good Christmas present for the Rockie in your life!).

This promises to be a special night with an opportunity to mix with fellow fans and exchange memories of a wonderful sporting year. Tickets will be available from Siamsa Tíre, from the Austin Stacks Clubhouse.


Our thanks to everyone who contributed so generously to our Church Gate Collection last weekend and to all our members who made the collection at all the Masses. Thanks also to our local Clergy for their co-operation as usual.


It takes place this year on Friday 12th December at 7.30pm at the Clubrooms.  Nomination & Motion forms have now been emailed to all members.  Any member who has not received their form and would like to request one is asked to contact Club Secretary Elma Nix 086 1053300.  Closing date for receipt of nominations/motions is Tuesday Dec 2nd at 5pm.


continues on this and every Saturday night commencing at 8.30pm.


As always the Clubhouse is available for all types of Parties. Phone Ian from 7pm at 066 7126942 for bookings.


The 45 Card Sessions continue in the Clubhouse every Monday and Thursday nights at 9.30pm.


Last Monday’s (17th Nov) Jackpot worth €5,000 was not won. The numbers drawn were 1, 5, 7, 31.
The €20 Prizes went to John Dowling, c/o Carmel O’Neill; Geraldine Harrington, c/o The Bingo; Helen McSweeney, c/o The Club; Michael & Joan Casey, c/o Club Rockies; and John Healy, c/o Charlie Healy.


Sincere sympathy is offered to the families of the following who died recently – Joseph Carroll, Shanakill (Uncle of current Club Juvenile Players, Michael (U14) and Gavin (U11) Slattery) -Geraldine Murphy, Brosna and Ashleigh Downs; John Jeffers Snr., North Commons, Ardfert and late of Strand Road; and Donie O’Sullivan, Kilbrean, Killarney (a long time member of the Spa GAA Scór Group).

Comments are closed.