David Moran Captains Kerry With Tommy Walsh On The Bench

Posted by


In 2014, David Moran announced himself on the big stage. Photo by Dermot Crean.

David Moran will captain his county on Sunday. Photo by Dermot Crean.

DAVID Moran is to captain his county on Sunday against Mayo in the Allianz National Football League opening match.

With new captain Kieran Donaghy unavailable due to Austin Stacks’ involvement in the club championship, it’ll be a proud moment for the Kerins O’Rahilly’s man.

The team contains just six of the side who started the All-Ireland final against Donegal. They are Fionn Fitzgerald, Paul Murphy, David Moran, Johnny Buckley, Stephen O’Brien and Paul Geaney.

Another Tralee man who makes the team is Moran’s club mate Barry John Keane while another ‘Blue’, Tommy Walsh is on the subs bench.

A number of players – including Peter Crowley, Colm Cooper, James O’Donoghue, Marc  Ó Sé, Donnchadh and Aidan O’Mahony – are unavailable through injury.

The team is as follows:

1. Brendan Kealy – Kilcummin

2. Pa Kilkenny – Glenbeigh/Glencar

3. Mark Griffin – St Michaels/Foilmore

4. Shane Enright – Tarbert

5. Jonathan Lyne – Killarney Legion

6. Fionn Fitzgerald – Dr Crokes

7. Paul Murphy – Rathmore

8. David Moran (C) – Kerins O’Rahillys

9. Bryan Sheehan – St Marys

10. Michael Geaney – Dingle

11. Kieran O’Leary – Dr Crokes

12. Johnny Buckley – Dr Crokes

13. Stephen O’Brien – Kenmare

14. Paul Geaney – Dingle

15. Barry John Keane – Kerins O’Rahillys

Fir Ionaid:

16. Shane Murphy – Kilcummin

17. Jack Sherwood – Firies

18. DaithI Casey -Dr Crokes

19.  Tommy Walsh – Kerins O’Rahillys

20.  Padraig Ó Conchúir – Dingle

21.  Thomas Hickey – Desmonds

22.  Philip O’Connor – Cordal

23.  Alan Fitzgerald – Castlegregory

24.  Jack Maguire – Listowel Emmets

25.  Conor Keane – Killarney Legion


Comments are closed.