David Moran Has Been Named As Munster Player Of The Year

Posted by
Kerry ETB new Insert


David Moran looks for in action for Kerry in this year's drawn Munster Final against Cork. Photo by Dermot Crean.

David Moran looks for in action for Kerry in this year’s drawn Munster Final against Cork. Photo by Dermot Crean.

THE year ends on a high note for David Moran who has been named as Munster Player of The Year for his performances for Kerry in the Munster championship this year.

The O’Rahilly’s man starred in Kerry’s Munster Final Replay against Cork. Under torrential rain, Moran stood out, conducting the orchestra in the middle of the park and leading Kerry to a 1-11 to 1-6 victory against the old foe.

That rich vein of form had continued from 2014 where he put himself to the fore as one of Kerry’s most important performers.

Continued below…

blasket insert new

Kerry minor captain, Mark O’Connor from Dingle, will pick up the top minor player award, Conor Cox of Listowel Emmets received the Junior award, while Kerry ladies senior footballer, Bernie Breen of Legion, will also be honoured with a Player of the Year award.

The ceremony takes place tomorrow night at Dromoland Castle in Co. Clare.

Munster Council chairman Robert Frost said; “David Moran and Bernie Breen contributed hugely to their teams’ performances this year and are deserving winner of the top playing awards in Gaelic football and ladies football respectively”.

Full list of winners are as follows…

Lyndon Fairbrother, Tipperary (minor hurling),  Mark O’Connor, Kerry (minor football), Cian Lynch, Limerick (U21 hurling); Steven O’Brien, Tipperary (U21 football); Diarmaid Byrnes, Limerick (intermediate hurling); Conor Cox, Kerry (junior football); Cáit Devane, Tipperary (camogie); Bernie Breen, Kerry (ladies football); Dominick Lynch, Kerry (handball); Michael Wadding, Waterford (Service to Refereeing); Jimmy Browne, LIT (Service to Education); Paul Collins, Tipperary (Media);Michael Ryan, Waterford (Special Merit); Ray Cummins, Cork (Football Hall of Fame); Ger Loughnane, Clare (Hurling Hall of Fame); Clonmel Commercial (Club of the year); John O’Dwyer, Tipperary (senior hurling); David Moran, Kerry (senior football); John Kiely, Limerick (manager of the year).

Comments are closed.