PHOTOS: Jubilant Scenes As The Final Three Are Elected

Posted by


Election Brassil 1

John Brassil celebrates after his election to Dail Eireann on Sunday night. Photo by Dermot Crean

WE have our five TDs for the next Dail.

Just after 8pm this evening, Martin Ferris, John Brassil and Brendan Griffin were elected on the 11th count with sitting Fine Gael TD Jimmy Deenihan losing out.

Fine Gael’s Brendan Griffin took the third seat followed by Sinn Fein’s Martin Ferris, then Fianna Fail’s John Brassil. There were scenes of wild celebration as presiding officer Padraig Burke deemed them elected.

It was a sad night for Jimmy Deenihan who bows out of politics after 30 years. Fianna Fail have a seat back in Kerry after their failure to win in either Kerry constituency last time out and Sinn Fein’s Martin Ferris, having looked in trouble in a TG4 poll a couple of weeks ago, showed his resilience to retain his place in the next Dail.

Now the question is will we have a government or will we be back to the polling booths in a few months?

Eleventh Count result (distribution of Arthur Spring’s votes in brackets)

Brendan Griffin (FG): 14,050 (1505)
Martin Ferris (SF): 12,964 (780)
John Brassil (FF): 12,792 (837)

Jimmy Deenihan (FG): 9,779

Election Ferris win 1

Sinn Fein supporters with Martin Ferris after his election on Sunday night. Photo by Dermot Crean

Election Griffin win

Brendan Griffin is congratulated by supporters on his election. Photo by Dermot Crean


Comments are closed.