Gallant Tralee CBS Side Lose Out In Frewen Cup Final

Posted by

U16 1/2 Munster Final – Frewen Cup

St Brendan’s Killarney 1-13

Tralee CBS 1-9

CBS The GreenTralee CBS came closer than the scoreline suggests to overcoming favourites St Brendan’s Killarney in a hard fought game in Fitzgerald Stadium on Monday afternoon.

The Sem, anchored by six players who had been part of their O’Sullivan Cup winning senior side, were made work for every inch of their victory by a gallant Tralee CBS side.

In fact, with ten minutes left, The Green led, but The Sem finished like a train with five unanswered points.

Tralee were indeed good for this lead as a stout defence marshalled by Kieran Dwyer and the very impressive Sean Mortimer never gave The Sem an inch throughout.

Stefan Okunbor and Tom Hoare more than held their own in midfield and with the Ballymac duo of Tomás O’Connor and Michael Reidy, aided by impressive youngster Michael Kelliher, The Green were always in strong contention.

O’Connor goaled five minutes after the break to give The Green the edge that they would hold until the 52nd minute.

However, when the game was ultimately there to be won, the Killarney side stepped up to the plate and were deserving winners for that.

The Green, under the stewardship of Mike Tim O’Sullivan, Marc Ó Sé and Neilie O’Sullivan, will be pleased with tremendous spirited display from their side.

The Sem however, were able to weather it and show more class in the end to take home the silverware and progress to the new All-Ireland series at this level.

CBS Green: Shane Foley (KOR), Brandon Patterson (AS), Sean Mortimer (Churchill), Kieran Dwyer (St Pats), David Long (Ballymac), Niall O’Mahoney (Na Gaeil), Tommy Lynch (St Pat’s), Stefan Okunbor (Na Gaeil), Tom Hoare (KOR), Michael Reidy (Ballymac), Michael Kelliher (John Mitchels), Tomás O’Connor (Ballymac), Sean Donnellan (Churchill), Gearoid Fitzgerald (AS), Aaron Roche (KOR). Subs; Tomas Linehan (Churchill), Kevin Williams (JM).

Comments are closed.