Here’s The Kerry Side To Face London In League Opener

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran looks at the Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play London in Round 1 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 2A on Sunday in McGovern Park, Ruislip…

Padraig Boyle.

A BIG day out awaits the Kerry Hurlers on Sunday in London when they take their first steps on the road back to Division 1B.

There are five changes from the team made to start against Cork. I made a stab at naming a team last week. I got the fullback line correct, with John Buckley, Bryan Murphy and Mr Consistant Sean Weir.

Stephen Murphy starts in goals as Martin Stackpoole recovers from injury.

James O’Connor and two Kilmoyley men, namely Daniel Collins and Tom Murnane. Daniel Collins has returned from the ski slopes all set to command the centre back position.

Daithi Griffin and Brandon Barrett are at midfield, Griffin has been excellent in all the pre-season games.

Paddy Kelly returns to the fold to start, he didn’t play in any of the opening games, his experience and power will be an asset on the right wing.

Shane Nolan is at centre forward but I expect him to swap positions with Kelly from the off.

A large contingent from Kilflynn are already in town to support Shane: Jordan and Sean Weir along with young Adam O’Sullivan who is the sub keeper.

Shane Conway seems to have recovered from a hand injury to take the number twelve shirt, I’m really looking forward to seeing him light up Ruislip.

The captain and Ballyduff man Padraig Boyle retains the corner forward position, Colum Harty a goal scorer against Cork is to operate at full forward, I’m not sure if this is his best position.

I think he operates better on the wing. Jordan Conway completes the line up and is sure to be a thorn in the side of London.  Rory Horgan also returns to the bench after a lay off.

Anything less than a comprehensive win for The Kingdom will be a surprise, but you never know what kind of a challenge London might provide.

The team captained by Pádraig Boyle is as follows.

1. Stephen Murphy, Causeway

2.  John Buckley, Lixnaw

3. Bryan Murphy, Causeway

4. Sean Weir, Crotta O’Neills

5. James O’Connor, Abbeydorney

6. Daniel Collins, Kilmoyley

7. Tom Murnane, Kilmoyley

8. Dáithí Griffin, St. Brendans

9. Brandon Barrett, Causeway

10. Patrick Kelly, Clarecastle

11. Shane Nolan, Crotta O’Neills

12. Shane Conway, Lixnaw

13. Padraig Boyle, Ballyduff

14. Colum Harty, Causeway

15. Jordan Conway, Crotta O’Neills

Fir Ionaid:

16. Adam O’Sullivan, Crotta O’Neills

17. Rory Horgan, St Brendan’s

18. Niall O’Mahony, Abbeydorney

19. Philip Lucid, Ballyheigue

20. Jack Goulding, Ballyduff

21. Maurice O’Connor,Kilmoyley

22. Daniel O’Carroll, Ballyduff

23. Dougie Fitzell, Kilmoyley

24. Brendan O’Leary, Abbeydorney

25. Evan Murphy, Causeway

26. Paudie O’Connor, Kilmoyley

Comments are closed.