Here’s The Result Of The Eighth Count In Tralee Electoral Area

Posted by


FOUR seats remain to be filled in the Tralee Municipal District of Kerry County Council and we’re that little bit closer after the eighth count for the Tralee Electoral Area was announced earlier.

Cllr O’Brien, Cllrs Norma Foley and Toireasa Ferris are the candidates elected so far and the wait goes on for Mikey Sheehy, Jim Finucane and Pa Daly who are likely to be elected, with sitting councillor Sam Locke in seventh place looking good for the seventh seat.

The eighth count at the John Mitchels GAA Complex, saw the votes of Fianna Fail’s Johnnie Wall distributed. Cllr Terry O’Brien’s surplus votes (123), will now be distributed for the ninth count but this is unlikely to bring any candidate over the quota.

The Eighth Count result…

Mikey Sheehy (FF) 1,539 (+ 128)

Jim Finucane (FG) 1,401 (+ 68)

Pa Daly (SF) 1,333 (+ 55)

Sam Locke (Ind) 1,122 (+ 87)

Anne Marie Fuller (Green) 890 (+ 22)

Cathal Foley (SF) 730 (+26)

Bridget O’Brien (FG) 725 (+ 38)


Total Electorate — 25,036

Total Poll — 13,169

Spoiled votes — 170

Turnout — 52.6%

Total Valid Poll — 12,999

Quota — 1,625

Comments are closed.