IT Tralee Begin Sigerson Cup Campaign With Home Game This Sunday

Posted by


Eoin Kelliher Financia Services sponsored gear bags for the IT Tralee football team.

By Eamon Fitzgerald

IT Tralee will kick off their 2019 Sigerson Cup campaign with a home game against Ulster University this Sunday (January 20th). The game will take place at the John Mitchels GAA Pitch, Tralee and will have a throw in time of 1pm.

IT Tralee come in to this game as underdogs as the Ulster University can call on a host of senior inter-county panellists.

In fact, seven of the Tyrone senior panel – goalkeeper Benny Gallen, defenders Michael McKernan and Frank Burns, midfield pair Ben McDonnell and Brian Kennedy and forwards Lee Brennan and David Mulgrew will all miss Tyrones McKenna Cup final on Sunday as a result of their Sigerson commitments.

Continued below…


They also have Donegal pair Ryan McHugh and Eoin Bán Gallagher aswell as Mayo man Patrick Durcan in their ranks just to name a few. It is no wonder that UU are being tipped by many to win the Sigerson Cup this year when you see all these names.

IT Tralee are once again managed by Liam Brosnan. Preparation for this game has been good despite the fact that the students were all doing exams before and after Christmas.

Liam Brosnan, Coach of IT Tralee accepts one of the gear bags sponsored by Eoin Kelliher (Financial Services). Also included is Kerry senior players David Clifford and Gavin Crowley.

They have played 10 games up to now and this is bound to help on Sunday. IT Tralee will be looking to a number of present and past Kerry senior panellists to lead their charge namely David Clifford (Fossa), Gavin Crowley (Templenoe), Jack Savage (Kerins O Rahillys), Dara Moynihan (Spa), Greg Horan (Austin Stacks), Michael Potts (Dr. Crokes) and Conor Keane (Killarney Legion).

The winner of this game will go straight to the quarter-finals on February 6th while the losers will get a second chance against the losers of the IT Sligo v Garda Training College. The losers round is currently scheduled for Wednesday 23rd or Thursday 24th of January.

The  IT Tralee Panel: (All Kerry unless stated)

Aaron McCarthy (Listry), Brian Fitzgerald (Dr. Crokes), Cillian Ferris (Ballysteen, Limerick), Conchuir Lynch (Ballingeary, Cork), Conor Byrne (Avondale, Wicklow), Conor Hurley (John Mitchels), Conor Keane (Killarney Legion), Conor Smith (Knockbride, Cavan), Daniel O’ Keeffe (Dromtarriffe, Cork), Dara Moynihan (Spa), Darragh Kennedy (Monaleen, Limerick), Darren O Doherty (Newcastlewest, Limerick), David Clifford (Fossa), DJ Murphy (Gneeveguilla), Gavin Crowley (Templenoe) – Captain, Gavin McFadden (Milford, Donegal), Greg Horan (Austin Stacks), Iarla Cortney (Ardfert), Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks), Jack Savage (Kerins O’ Rahillys), Jake Foster (Portarlington, Laois), James Duggan (John Mitchels), Killian Murray (Tadhg Mac Cathraigh, Cork), Liam Kearney (Spa), Mark O’ Shea (Dr. Crokes), Mark Quigley (St. Marys, Caherciveen), Michael Potts (Dr. Crokes), Paddy Gillespie (Aodh Ruadh, Donegal), Paul Clarke (Dr. Crokes), Sean Kelliher (Beaufort), Shane Cronin (Spa) and Thomas Kearns (Ashford, Wicklow).

Management: Liam Brosnan, Eoin O Shea, Clive O’Callaghan and Shane O’Rourke.

• IT Tralee GAA Club would like to thank Eoin Kelliher Financial Services for sponsoring gear bags and Alan O Sullivan from Bathrooms 4u for sponsoring Hooded tops, t-shirts and pants for the team. IT Tralee are delighted to be in partnership with both these businesses.


Comments are closed.