It’s All Over In Kerry As Norma Foley Takes Fifth And Final Seat

Posted by


Norma Foley.

IT’S all over. Kerry has its five representatives for the 33rd Dáil with two of them from Tralee.

Norma Foley took the fifth and final seat after the eighth count at the expense of her Fianna Fáil party colleague and outgoing TD, John Brassil, at the Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre this evening.

The count distributed Green Party candidate, Cleo Murphy’s 6,229 votes with 1,861 going to the Tralee woman and 973 transferred to John Brassil. This left Foley with a 3,334 lead over her party colleague and she was elected without reaching the quota. There were 3,395 non-transferable papers.

Earlier this afternoon, Danny Healy Rae (Ind) and Brendan Griffin were reelected to the Nail, joining Michael Healy Rae (Ind) and Sinn Féin’s Pa Daly who were elected last night. Here’s the result of the eighth count…

• Micheal Healy Rae (Independent) — ELECTED 16,818 

• Pa Daly (Sinn Féin) — ELECTED 15,733 

• Brendan Griffin (Fine Gael) — ELECTED 14,703 

• Danny Healy Rae (Independent) — ELECTED 13,000 

• Norma Foley (Fianna Fáil) — 11,989 (1,861) ELECTED

• John Brassil (Fianna Fáil) — 8,655 (973)

• Cleo Murphy (Green Party) — 6,229  ELIMINATED

• Mike Kennelly (Fine Gael) — 4,419 ELIMINATED

• Norma Moriarty (Fianna Fáil) — 4,217  ELIMINATED

• Sonny Foran (Aontú) — 1,404 ELIMINATED

• John Bowler (Irish Freedom Party) — 640 ELIMINATED

• Ted Cronin (Independent) — 544 ELIMINATED

• Sean O’Leary (Independent) — 60 ELIMINATED

Electorate: 116,885

Total Valid Poll: 78,209

Invalid Poll:  543

Quota: 12,945

One Comment

  1. I cannot believe this woman has got elected to the Dail she has not done nothing for Tralee she is a JOKE