Jack O’Shea Inducted Into GAA Hall Of Fame

Posted by


Jack O’Shea with Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael, Aogán Ó Fearghail at his induction into the GAA Hall of Fame on Thursday.

HE’S a legend who was such an integral part of the Kerry team of the 70s and 80s who won eight All-Irelands, so it’s no surprise to see Jack O’Shea inducted into the GAA Hall of Fame.

The GAA Museum at Croke Park announced the induction of four more players into the Hall of Fame for 2017, covering the period 1980 to 1984.

Jacko was joined by Offaly’s Matt Connor, Offaly hurler Pádraig Horan and Kilkenny’s Frank Cummins at a special ceremony at the GAA Museum at Croke Park on Thursday.

Continued below…


The Cahersiveen man won seven All-Ireland senior medals with Kerry and was their midfield dynamo in the championship from 1978 to 1992.

He joins other Kerry legends, Joe Keohane, Dan O’Keeffe, Sean Murphy, Mick O’Connell, Pat Spillane, Mikey Sheey, John O’Keeffe and Mick O’Dwyer in the illustrious Hall of Fame.

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael, Aogán Ó Fearghail, congratulated the players on being named on the prestigious list which acknowledges their massive contribution to the GAA at the highest level over a prolonged period.

Uachtarán Ó Fearghail said: “I am delighted to welcome these four outstanding GAA ambassadors into our GAA Museum Hall of Fame.  These four individuals illuminated their respective codes, setting consistently high standards that thrilled crowds and have left an enduring legacy on our Games”.

The quartet are now in an exclusive group of 46 legends of Gaelic Games who make up the Hall of Fame.

In 2016 the GAA Museum welcomed over 153,000 visitors, of which 40% were from overseas and it has been consistently ranked as one of the Top 5 visitor attractions in Dublin on the influential TripAdvisor website.

Comments are closed.