Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by

It was Tournament Sunday for the Kerry Badminton Association at the Killarney Sports Arena on Sunday last where players from all clubs affiliated to the Kerry Association did battle for the 4 tournaments contested on the day.

All four competitions certainly produced golden nuggets of all that is good in the game of badminton with divisions 4 & 5 in particular serving up 2 thrilling 3 set finals.
Results as follows.

Division 5 mixed doubles final (For the Junior Griffin Shield); Jolanta Lagin (Moyvane) and Luke O’Loughlin (Castleisland) defeating Shera O’Neill (Iveragh) and Daniel O’ Connor (Killarney) 15-21; 21=16; 21-14

Division 4 mixed doubles Shield final; Jill Redmond (Listowel) & Ger O’Connor (Killarney) defeated Rita McCarthy (Listowel) and John McDonnell (Ballyheigue) 21-19; 13-21; 21-14

Junior Griffin Kerry Co Chairman presenting the Mixed Double Shield to Jill Redmond Listowel and Ger O’Connor Killarney along with Runners Up Rita McCarthy Listowel and John McDonald Ballyheigue. Photo: Tom Bradley

Div 3 Waterstone Cup Mixed doubles Final; Amanda Carmody (Moyvane) and Timmy Hanrahan (Castleisland) defeated Sam Hayes (Killarney) and Jamie Elliott (Castleisland) 21-18; 21-13
In this competition Ms. Carmody retained the title she won last year whilst her partner, Timmy Hanrahan was victorious the previous year, in 2015.

Waterstone Cup Badminton Competition took place Sunday at Killarney Sports & Leisure Centre. Timmy Hanrahan Castleisland and Amanda Carmody Moyvane being presented with The Waterstone Cup by Junior Griffin Kerry Co Chairman along with Runners Up Sam Hayes Killarney and Jamie Elliott Castleisland. Photo: Tom Bradley

Div. 1&2 Paddy Drummond Cup Final; This event was ran on the round robin system and after an engrossing series of games the honours fell to Jennifer Keane (Killarney) and Aaron Tan (Castleisland) on 123 points who just edged out Ruth Concannon (Castleisland) and Paddy Redmond (Listowel) who finished up on 121 points. It was, indeed a nail biting finish

The Badminton story this coming Sunday will revolve around the Munster Haynes Cup competition to be played in Bishopstown, County Cork and the Moyvane tournament which the home club will host in the local Community Centre.

The Haynes Cup, which is Munster’s oldest team event was commissioned by Mr William Haynes of Cork who was Munster Council second ever Hon. Secretary from 1931 to 1936.

It was the Limerick L.Y.P.A. Club who were the first winners of this cup in its inception in the 1930-31 season with the first Kerry winners being the Tralee K.P.H. club in 1933/34 .

It was 20 years later when the Haynes Cup crossed the Kerry border once again when in the 1953/54 season the winners were the County Club, Tralee and the cup stayed in Kerry again the following season, 1955/56, when the winners were the C.I.E. Club of Tralee.

It was 25 years again before the Haynes Cup was captured by a Kerry and this was by the Kingdom Club of Castleisland and what a wonderful odyssey this proved this proved to be for the Kerry side as they captured no less than eleven titles between 1981 and 2003 and are now the Haynes Cup trail blazers.

The second half of the noughties saw a talented Killarney side come to fore and they were three times winners in 2004, 2005 and 2008. Neighbours Abbeyfeale were Haynes Cup also way back in 1962.

Despite road works in recent times the L1015 road to Moyvane will be like a busy motorway this coming Sunday as Badminton enthusiasts from throughout the County will be making their way to the local Community Centre to play in the 32nd annual Newtownsandes sponsored annual Badminton Tournaments, which will cater for all Kerry divisions from 2 to 5.

Division 5 to commence at 12.15; division 4 at 2.15; div. 3 at 4.15 and div. 2 at 5.30. Entry forms are now with each club secretary and all players are requested to adhere to the timetables.

The Moyvane tournament will bring 2017 to a close on the Kerry Badminton front and the first major action of 2018 will be the ladies and mens league finals to be played in Tralee on Wednesday January 10th with the Kerry schools programme to be played in Killarney the following day, January 11th and that following weekend will see the Listowel Club host their 47th annual tournament on Sat/Sun January 13/14th. Indeed¬†Listowel’s mixed doubles event is Ireland’s longest club tournament competition.

Between championships, leagues and tournaments the early months of 2018 will certainly a feast of top class badminton to the fore for all Kerry enthusiasts.

Comments are closed.