Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by

At the Moyvane Annual Badminton Tournament held in Moyvane Community Hall on Sunday 10 December were Padraig Hanrahan and Fiona Buckley Moyvane on their way to winning the Division 5 Michael Corridan Garage Shield. Photo by Tom Bradley.

Despite the inclement weather, or the allure of Christmas shopping or, indeed, the North Kerry football final played in nearby Listowel, the Moyvane Community Centre was the focal point for the many badminton enthusiasts from all corners of the Kingdom of Kerry on Sunday last where the Newtownsandes sponsored 32nd annual Badminton tournaments were hosted by the local club.

Divisions 2 to 5 were catered for on Sunday last and the many supporters present were treated to a feast of top class fare with the division 3 mens section in particular providing many rip-roaring encounters, indeed just 2 points separated the top 3 pairs.

Overall results as follows

Div 5 Ml. Corridan Garage trophy Mixed doubles winners ; Fiona Buckley Moyvane and Padraig Hanrahan Moyvane defeated Molly Nolan Moyvane and Andrew Nielzieloki Listowel, 22/20 21/15

Plate winners Marella Murphy Listowel and Niall O’Hanlon Causeway defeated Eileen Roche Moyvane and Frankie Flaherty Ballyheigue 30/28

Div 4 Eileen and Tom Roche Trophy; Mixed doubles Winners Rita McCarthy Listowel and Padraig Kearney Moyvane defeated Marie Kennelly Moyvane and Brendan O’Carroll Ballyheigue 21/15 21/17

Plate; mens winners Ivan O’Brien and Noel O’Carroll Ballyheigue defeated Paul Hayes Listowel and Maurice Lawlor Ballyheigue 30/15

Div 3 Brosnans Bar Trophy Mixed doubles Winners Carmel Hudson Moyvane and Kieran Crehan Killarney defeated Jeab Workman Killarney and William Flaherty Moyvane 21/17 21/18

Div 2 Mail Road Cross Garden Centre trophy Winners Helen Browne Moyvane and Maurisz Tusinski Killarney defeated Ruth Concannon Castleisland,and Donncha Moloney Moyvane 21/19 21/19

Comments are closed.