Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by


The Kerry even doubles badminton County Championships, again sponsored by CPC.IE commenced in the Killarney sports Centre on Sunday last and which catered for divisions 1,3 & 5 and what a huge turnout there was over the day which saw no less than 6 County titles decided.

In division 1 it was a case of “as you were” as both pairs of defending champions retained their crowns. In the mens final it proved to be  a repeat of last year’s decider which saw  the experienced Castleisland pairing of Tom Bourke and Eric Nelligan  taking on the youthful pairing of James Flaherty (Moyvane) and Jonathan Keane(Castleisland).

Last year’s decider  saw the teenagers capture the first set but it was not to be on Sunday last as the champions retained their title in two sets 21-16;21-16

Bourke won his first senior doubles with Billy Lacey in 2003 whilst Nelligan first win was with Gio Gaudino in 2006 but Sunday last saw this talented badminton pairing win their sixth title in a row as a partnership.

The ladies title race saw the defending  champions wearing the Castleisland colours of the recent singles winner, Edel Broderick  and Miriam Rohan take on the Aunt/Niece partnership of Mary Falvey and Maeve Twomey.

Indeed Mrs Falvey is a many times winner of this crown with her first win being in 1987 with her sister, Helen O’Donoghue who is the mother of Miss Twomey who was contesting her first senior decider.

It was the defending champions, however,   who were always in control of this final winning in two sets 21-10; 21-10

The division 5 ladies final saw the recent singles winner, Listowels Karen Lawlor team up with Castleislands  Mairead O’Connell and they were opposed by the Castleisland pairing of Marie  Bradley  and Eibhlis Brosnan.

For Miss Lawlor it was her second season in a row reaching this decider as she lost out to a Causeway/Ballyheigue pairing last year  and, unfortunately for her, she was to suffer the same fate this year but what a great 3 set final this proved to be with the Castleisland pairing winning by 21-14;22-20;21-17

Division 5 Ladies Doubles Badminton Championships which took place Killarney Sports & Leisure Centre Sunday 18 February. Eibhlis Brosnan & Maire Bradley Kingdom Castleisland being presented with The Eileen Roache Cup by Eileen Roache after they won the Kerry Division 5 Ladies Double Championships along with Runners Up Mairead O’Connell Kingdom Castleisland & Karan Lawlor Listowel. Photo by Tom Bradley

The mens division 5 decider saw the singles winner, Killarneys Daniel O’Connor team up with Moyvanes Mirsolan Jesko and this pairing came good in a two set decider over the ever trying Ballyheigue/Causeway pairing  of Frankie Flaherty and Padraig Murray  by 21-14;21-17

Kerry Division 5 Mens Doubles Badminton Championships which took place Killarney Sports & Leisure Centre Sunday 18 February.  Daniel O’Connor Killarney & Miraslow Jesko Moyvane being presented with the Division 5 Doubles Cup by Junior Griffin Kerry Co Chairman after winning the Kerry Division 5 Mens Doubles Badminton Championships along with Runners Up Frankie Flaherty & Padraic Murray Ballyheigue. Photo by Tom Bradley

What a spell binding thriller the div 3 final proved to be. On the one side you had the Moyvane pairing of the recent division 3 singles winner Amanda Carmody who teamed up with her club colleague Bridget McCarthy who just over a week ago won the division 4 singles title.

The gallant opposition was provided by Killarneys Jeab Workman who teamed up with Castleislands Michelle Beazley. Both sets were close hard fought encounters with the title going North to Moyvane by 21-18;23-21

What a fairy tale year it has been for Ms Carmody as she recently also reached the div.2 singles final.

If the div 3 ladies final was exciting, so was the division 3 mens decider which saw Moyvanes John Mulvihill and Kevin Kennelly take on Castleislands Timmy Hanrahan and Jamie Elliot who, incidentally, were club mates of Kennelly/Hanrahan up to last season.

It was the Castleisland pair who edged out a nail biting first set by 22-20  but showing nerves of steel the Moyvane turned the table around and captured the County title by winning the two remaining sets by 18-21;18-21 but what a contest it was.

After two rounds of the championships 3 players are now on course to win the three titles within their own division, namely Edel Broderick at division 1; Amanda Carmody at division 3 and Daniel O’Connor at division 5

The next Kerry championship  fixture will be the division 2&4 doubles for both ladies and men which will take place in Killarney on Friday  March 2nd. Entry forms are now with each club.

A reminder to all that the Annascaul Club will hold their annual tournament on Sunday March 11th which will cater for divisions 2 to 5. Entry forms for Annascaul have now been distributed.

All involved in badminton are requested to note of a forthcoming  badminton tournament which is not listed on the Kerry fixtures list and is to be played in the Tralee Sports Centre on April 8th with all of the proceedings going to the Tralee District Chernobyl Children’s  Fund. Watch this space for further news.

Forthcoming Fixtures

Another busy week of activity is facing the Kerry badminton enthusiast  with Munster events being the main focus of attention. The Kerry Class E team, which would relate to the old division 2 status will travel to the WIT sports centre in Waterford City to do battle in the Munster section of this All Ireland series

This panel of players have put in a lot of time training in the Tralee Complex under the supervision of the joint managers; Ms Marion O’Neill  and Ms. Catherine Hanrahan.

The starting ten will be selected from the following panel; Brid Murphy, Lisa Sayers, Mairead O’Regan, Helen Browne, Niamh Hickey, Samira Hayes, Jeab Workman, Michelle Beazley , Donie Enright, Donnacha Moloney, Timmy Noonan, Aidan McCarthy, Michael O’Connor, Brendan McGovern and Marius Tusinski

Comments are closed.