Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by


By Junior Griffin

For most players throughout the country  the badminton season is well and truly over but for those involved in the winning clubs from the provinces of Munster, Connacht and Leinster the show is still going on.

The provincial winners of each grade  from C to H will battle it out in the UL  Arena of Limerick on Sunday next in the effort to capture that coveted honour of winning an All-Ireland Club title .

These competitions are over 40 years old but this is the first time that a Munster venue will host this event which over the years were held in either Dublin or Galway but the Limerick hall with its 12 badminton courts is an ideal venue to host this major end of season badminton competition.

The Kerry interest  on Sunday next will once again focus on the Moyvane Club as this hotbed of Kerry Badminton will have their Grade E team fighting the Kerry cause in an effort to capture this All Ireland Club title.

Many of this Moyvane panel have been  there before  as members of the Grade F team who won All Ireland Club honours just 2 years ago and in the heat of All Ireland battle no doubt but this experience should stand to the side.

Moyvanes opponents on Sunday next will be Sligo Town who will be representing Connacht and from Leinster come the Meath champions, Kilmessan.  Whilst Kerry in the past would have not much contact with Sligo badminton any team from Meath is a different prospect as both Kerry County and Club teams have had  some great battles with the representatives from the Royal County

Round 1 on Sunday will see Moyvane take on Sligo with the losers to play Kilmessan  in round 2 who then will play the 1st round winners in round 3.

The Moyvane panel for Sunday next  is as follows;

Amanda Carmody, Helen Brown, Carmel Hudson, Denise Collins, Donie Enright, Donnacha Moloney, Timmy Noonan, Kevin Kennelly..

The Kerry Badminton Association wish to extend best wishes to Moyvane and no doubt but they will do our County proud.

Comments are closed.