Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by

FZ Forza Irish Graded Finals 

Kerry badminton’s pride of place this week goes to Maeve Twomey (Killarney) and Elaine Hudson (Moyvane) on capturing All-Ireland titles for the county at the new National Indoor Arena in Dublin last Saturday (May 18th).

Elaine Hudson – Moyvane (Left) and Maeve Twomey – Killarney (Right) who captured the FZ Forza Irish Grade D Ladies Doubles Championship at the National Arena in Dublin last Saturday. Photo: Tom Braley

In the morning the Kerry duo teamed up to play in the Ladies Grade D Doubles final against Niamh o Driscoll and Kate O Mahony. The result was never in doubt with the Kerry girls comfortably overcoming their opponents in two sets 21-12, 21-10.

Hudson had her work done for the day but Twomey was back in the afternoon to take part in the Grade D Mixed Doubles final with playing partner Paul Kingston of Cork. Their opponents were Gavyn O Donovan and Edel McCabe. Like her partnership with Hudson earlier in the day this again proved to be another relatively comfortable encounter for  Twomey and her partner as they took it in two sets 21-14, 21-11.

Paul Kingston (Cork) – Moyvane and Maeve Twomey – Killarney (Right) who captured the FZ Forza Irish Grade D Mixed Doubles Championship at the National Arena in Dublin last Saturday. Photo: Tom Bradley

With the Kerry Badminton Association social taking place in Tralee later that evening the Kerry girls provided another great reason to raise a glass at the end of year party bash.

Kerry Badminton Association Social

Winners of Kerry County Championships Singles, Doubles and Mixed Champions from Div 1 to Div 5 for the 2018/19 season. Photo: Tom Bradley

The annual Kerry Badminton social was well attended at the Rose Hotel in Tralee last Saturday night.

Kerry Badminton Association President Johnny Brosnan thanked the committee, coaches and team managers for the job done over the season.

He also paid tribute to the sponsors of all the competitions throughout the season and the media in Kerry for their great coverage of the sport. He went on to thank the Annascaul club for organising the social this year and the Rose Hotel and their staff for the great service and helping everyone enjoy the night.

Members of the Ballyheigue Badminton Club who attended the Kerry Badminton Social at the Rose Hotel in Tralee last Saturday night. Photo: Tom Bradley

Kerry Badminton Vice President Tom Clear called out the winners and runners-up of all the Kerry Leagues throughout the season and Johnny Brosnan called out the winners and runners-up of all the county championships. Tom Bourke the Chairperson of the County Board was on hand to present the prizes.

One of the most intriguing parts of the annual social is the announcement of the winner of the Junior Griffin special merit award for services to Kerry Badminton.

Tom Bourke Chairperson of the Kerry Badminton Association presents the Junior Griffin Special Merit Award for service to Kerry Badminton to Johnny Brosnan at Annual Kerry Badminton Social at Rose Hotel, Tralee last Saturday Night. Photo: Tom Bradley

This is something that Johnny Brosnan would normally announce himself but we were told that Tom Bourke would present the award this year.

The reason of course was and much to his surprise was because this year Johnny himself was the one that Junior selected for the prize.

Johnny has served Kerry Badminton with great esteem in his role as President for many years and throughout his life he has given great time to the sport in spite of being heavily involved in sports administration elsewhere also must notably with East Kerry GAA. Johnny plays a huge role in organising the annual raffle a vital part in funding the association annually and over the years even managed a Kerry Inter County team to All-Ireland success.

Paraic Murray, Danielle Robinson and Brendan Carroll of Causeway Badminton Club at Kerry Badminton Social at the Rose Hotel in Tralee last Saturday night. Photo: Tom Bradley

After the presentations DJ Tony Mulvihill played tunes into the early hours in front of a packed dance floor.

The winners and runners-up for the season are as follows

Men’s Div 1 Singles

Winner Tom Bourke Kingdom Castleisland

Runner Up Fergal Hannon Listowel

Men’s Div 2 Singles

Winner Brendan McGovern Annascaul

Runner Up Timmy Noonan Moyvane

Men’s Div 3 Singles

Winner Cathal Donovan Annascaul

Runner Up Jack McElligott Listowel

Men’s Div 4 Singles

Winner Kevin O Mahony Ballyheigue

Runner Up Paul Hayes Listowel

Men’s Div 5 Singles

Oisin Moloney  Listowel

Runner Up Paraic Murray Causeway

Ladies Div 1 Singles

Winner E Kenny Kingdom Castleisland

Runner Up Niamh Flaherty Moyvane

Ladies Div 2 Singles

Winner Maeve Twomey Killarney

Runner Up Saorcha Fitzgerald Moyvane

Ladies Div 3 Singles

Winner Samira Hayes Killarney

Runner-Up Jeab Workman Killarney

Ladies Div 4 Singles

Winner Valerie Guiney Listowel

Runner-Up Breda Flavin Moyvane

Ladies Div 5 Singles Sonya Smith Killarney

Runner-Up Eva Browne Moyvane

Mens Doubles

Div 1

Winners Tom Bourke & Eric Nelligan Kingdom Castleisland

Runners Up Michael Crossan & Alan Nelligan Listowel

Div 2

Winners Brendan McGovern Annascaul  & Aaron Tan Kingdom Castleisland

Runners Up Andy McMahon & Paddy Redmond Listowel

Div 3

Winners Arthur Chute & Andy McMahon Listowel

Runners Up Jamie Elliott & Timmy Hanrahan Kingdom Castleisland

Div 4

Winners John McDonnell & Kevin O Mahony Ballyheigue

Runners Up Padraig Barrett & Brendan Carroll Causeway

Div 5

Winners Radoslaw Choromanski & Padraigh Hanrahan Moyvane

Runners Up

Joe Carroll & Paraic Murray Causeway

Ladies Doubles

Div 1

Winners Elaine Hudson Moyvane & Maeve Twomey Killarney

Runners Up Saorcha Fitzgerald Moyvane and Niamh Hickey Killarney

Div 2

Winners Niamh Hickey Killarney & Elaine Hudson Moyvane

Runners Up Helen Browne  & Saorcha Fitzgerlad Moyvane

Div 3

Winners Michelle Beazley Kingdom Castleisland & Samira Hayes Killarney

Runners Up Jill Redmond Listowel & Jeab Workman Killarney

Div 4

Winners Grace Guiney & Valerie Guiney Listowel

Runners Up Louise Behan and Breda Flavin Moyvane

Div 5

Winners Susie Rice and Laura Sheehan Listowel

Runners Up

Fiona Buckley & Charlotte Quinn Moyvane

Div 1

Winners Sinead Galvin Killarney & Tom Bourke Kingdom Castleisland
Runners Up  Mary Falvey Annascaul & Alan Nelligan Listowel

Div 2
Winners Ruth Concannon & Aaron Tan Kingdom Castleisland

Runners Up Brid Murphy & Aidan McCarthy Kingdom Castleisland

Div 3

Winners Michelle Beazley & Jamie Elliott Kingdom Castleisland

Runners Up Samira Hayes & Kieran Crehan Killarney

Div 4

Winners Josie Gilbert & John McDonnell Ballyheigue

Runners Up Marie Kennelly & Barry O Callaghan Moyvane

Div 5

Winners Danielle Robinson & Paraic Murray Causeway

Runners Up Eva Browne & Radoslaw Choromanski Moyvane

Mixed League Winners

Div 1

Winners Kingdom

Runners Up Moyvane

Div 2

Winners Kingdom

Runners Up Listowel

Div 3

Winners Listowel

Runners Up Killarney

Div 4

Winners Moyvane

Runners Up Listowel

Div 5

Winners Moyvane

Runners Up Ballyheigue

All Ireland Community Games Finals

Very best of luck to both the Listowel boys and girls U-15 teams who will take part in the All-Ireland finals of the Community Games in the University of Limerick next Sunday (May 26th). Having already secured Kerry and Munster titles this season all of Kerry badminton will be hoping that you can go on the capture National titles as well now as the season comes to a close until the Autumn.

Comments are closed.