Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by

By Ruth Concannon

More Champions and Kerry Team Successes! 

In an action-packed weekend of badminton there were Kerry championships held in Killarney sports and leisure centre on both Friday night and Saturday.

This was topped off with the first of the Munster inter county team competitions on Sunday in the University of Limerick.  Kerry teams started training before Christmas with one target in mind, win Munster and progress to represent Kerry in the All-Irelands later in the season.

In the D competition there were three teams battling it out in a straight round robin winner takes all between Kerry, Waterford and Tipperary.

First up for the Kingdom was Waterford where Kerry won 3 very tight games in a row to move from 2-2 after doubles to 5-2 heading into the last two games. Sinead Galvin came from 13-18 down in singles to win 21-19 and helping Kerry to an overall 7-2 win!

Tipperary then beat Waterford on the same score-line meaning the winner of the Tipperary Kerry game would take the honours on the day.

Once again with several games going to long three setters the Kerry team had to dig deep to take the match on the closest of margins 5-4 and the Munster win!

The Munster Grade F Inter County Badminton Competition was played in UL Lmerick. The Kerry Grade D F Team who were Runners Up on the day. L/R…. Carmel Hudson, Timmy Hanrahan, Bridget McCarthy, Kiaran Crehan, Breda Lane, Arthur Chute, Denise Collins, Cian Liston, Deina Vesko, Evan Horan, Ciara Hudson, Jack McElligott,William Flaherty, Manager. Photo by Tom Bradley

Next stop for this Kerry team is the All-Irelands in April where they will take on the rest of the provincial champions. Team on the day was Maeve Twomey, Elaine Hudson, Niamh Hickey, Saorcha Fitzgerald, Sinead Galvin, Alan Nelligan, Fergal Hannon, Chris O’Donoghue , Donnie Enright and Mike Crossan.

For the Kerry Grade F’s there was six teams entered in the competition, so the format was two groups with the winners of each meeting in a final.

Kerry opened the day with a 6-3 win over Limerick, this brought up Tipperary next who had also beaten Limerick so the winner would top the group and move to the final.  After the first four games the score-line was 3-1 to Kerry, keeping the pressure on Kerry picked up the two games they needed to reach 5-2, finish the game and top the group.

The Kerry Badminton Div 2 Ladies sponsored Singles Championships were held in Killarney Sports & Leisure Centre Friday 31 January. This photograph shows. Niamh Hickey Killarney on her way to winning the Division 2 Ladies Badminton title. Photo by Tom Bradley

The final would be against Cork who topped their group.  After the first four games however, the scores were not in Kerry’s favour with Cork taking a 3-1 lead.

This increased to 4-1 and with the last 4 games on court at the same time Cork just needed to take one to secure the win while Kerry needed all four.

With Cork taking one of the mixed games it was all over and the F’s had to settle for the silver medal on the day.

Team on the day was Deina Vesko, Denice Collins, Bridget McCarthy, Ciara Hudson, Breda Lane, Carmel Hudson, Evan Horan, Jack McElligott, Timmy Hanrahan, Cian Liston, Arthur Chute and Kieran Crehan.

Friday night in Killarney it was time for the sponsored Division 2 and 4 senior singles championships.  Congratulations to all our 2019-2020 champions:

Division 4 Ladies: Madison Carter (Listowel) beat Marie Kennelly (Moyvane) 21-19, 21-15

Division 4 Men’s: Oisin Moloney (Listowel) beat Padraig Curtin (Listowel) 18-21, 21-18, 21-18

Division 2 Ladies: Niamh Hickey (Killarney) beat Saorcha Fitzgerals (Moyvane) 21-16, 21-17

Division 2 Men’s: Aaron Tan (Kingdom Castleisland) beat Timmy Noonan (Moyvane) 21-14, 21-14

The Kerry Badminton Div 4 Mens sponsored Singles Badminton Championships were held in Killarney Sports & Leisure Centre Friday 31 January. This photograph shows Tom Bourke Chairman Kerry Badminton presenting Oisin Moloney Listowel with the Division 4 Singles Badminton Cup along with Runner Up Padraig Curtin, Listowel. Photo by Tom Bradley

Action was back in Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre again on Saturday for the Lee Strand sponsored Kerry Juvenile Singles Championships. Results from the day were:

U10 GIRLS: Nicole Vesko Listowel beat Triona Prendiville Listowel 15/3, 15/12

U10 BOYS: Ciaran Moriarty Listowel beat John Joe Carmody Listowel 15/12, 15/12

U12 GIRLS: Kate Nolan Listowel beat Grace McGovern Kingdom 21/9, 21/12

U12 BOYS: Oscar McElligott Listowel beat Ben McElligott Listowel 21/19, 19/21, 21/19

U14 GIRLS: Jessica O’Loughlin Kingdom beat Maria Tritschler Listowel 14/21, 21/7, 21/16

U14 BOYS: Ayrton Burke Kingdom beat Ruadhan Donovan Annascaul 14/21, 21/15, 21/10

U16 GIRLS: Ava McKay Listowel beat Sara Hayes Listowel 20/22, 21/10, 21/15

U16 BOYS: Ethan Tritschler Listowel beat Dara Newsome Annascaul 21/8, 21/12

Next weekend the Kerry C, E and G teams head to UL for their the Munster inter county competitions.

Comments are closed.