Kerry ETB Honours 69 Students At Annual Awards

Posted by


Gabrielle O’Brien from Tralee Youthreach with her award.

THE annual Kerry ETB Student Awards ceremony took place on the week of May 10.

This key event in the ETB academic calendar, celebrating the achievements of students and learners from their primary, post primary schools and youthreach centres, was not going to be put on hold due to the pandemic.

Normally hosted in the North Campus of the Munster Technological University, this year due to COVID-19 it was hosted in their individual schools, while adhering to health and safety guidelines.

Continued below…

Sixty-nine students were presented with an award and it is a very special occasion for all of the award recipients, their parents/guardians, families and teachers. The award recipients are excellent role models for their schools and centres.

Students received awards for academic excellence, involvement in school life, peer mentoring, Transition Year achievements and leadership.

This year for the first time, the three Community National Schools each received a Science Achievement Award.

Causeway Comprehensive school student Keith Flynn with Principal Cathal Fitzgerald.

Colm McEvoy, CEO stated; “Given the challenges presented by the pandemic since March 2020, the format for this year’s  ceremony had to be changed in line with the current restrictions and public health advice. For the ETB, the importance of recognising the achievement of the students took on added significance and importance this year. The students receiving awards have demonstrated how the challenges of recent times can be overcome, inspiring us all through their success and resilience. I wish all the award recipient’s every success in the years ahead.”

Ann O’Dwyer Director of Schools, Youth and Music thanked the Principals and Staff in the schools who are constantly striving to be at the cutting edge in maths, business science, technology and the arts.

A special thank you was extended this year to the parents/guardians who supported the students with their remote learning.

A special mention went to Dylan Mangan from Killorglin Community College who achieved maximum points in his leaving certificate and was awarded the ‘Best Overall Academic Excellence Award’.

Dylan Mangan with Principal of Killorglin Community College Vera Kerrisk

Comments are closed.