Kerry Hurling All-Stars To Be Chosen This Friday

Posted by


THE Kerry Hurling All Stars Presentation which was postponed as a mark of respect to the family of the Lixnaw G.A.A Chairman Paul Wallace has been rescheduled, and will now take place on this Friday night, October 19, in the Abbeydorney G.A.A Complex, with proceedings commencing at 8pm.

The concept which was initiated by the well known hurling commentator Mike ‘Halloran back in 2013 has proved to be an outstanding success in terms of the recognition it gives to all of Kerry’s finest exponents of the code, and, the social outlet it provides for their families and friends.

Since the beginning of the awards, Kilmoyley with 20 All Stars shared amongst 11 players have been honoured more than any other club, with Daniel Collins having the distinction of being the only player to be honoured on all five occasions in four different positions.

Continued below…


He was also the Senior Player of the Year (2015), and, the other recipients of this particular award were Darren Dineen (2013) Tom Murnane (2014), and Padraig Boyle (2016 & 2017).

Along with a Senior award there will also be a Young Player of the Year, and, the previous winners in this category were Brendan Brosnan (2013) Darragh Shanahan (2014), Michael O’Leary (2016) and Shane Conway (2015 and 2017).

All eight clubs have players nominated for this year’s awards with Kilmoyley topping the list with thirteen, while, nineteen of the forty five players nominated have previously won awards.

The event this year will support a fundraiser for Killahan National School which meets the needs of children who have been diagnosed with autism, and, have recently opened a class for pupils who need specialised ASD.

Special guests and speakers on the night — which begins at 8pm — are All Ireland winning captain Jimmy Deenihan and, one of Kilmoyley’s most famous sporting sons, John Martin Brick.

Nominated Players

No.1..John B O Halloran (Kilmoyley), Martin Stackpoole (Lixnaw), Adam O Sullivan (Crotta)
No.2.. Michael Quilter (Lixnaw), Daniel Finnegan (St Brendans), Sean Nolan (Kilmoyley),
No.3..James Godley (Kilmoyley), Stephen Power (Lixnaw), Sean Weir (Crotta)
No.4..Tommy Barrett (Causeway), Sean Murnane (Kilmoyley), Padraig Kearney (St Brendans)
No.5..Sean Leahy (Causeway), Robert Collins (Kilmoyley), Brendan Brosnan (Lixnaw)
No.6..Jason Diggins (Causeway), Darragh Shanahan (Lixnaw), Tom Murnane (Kilmoyley)
No.7..Evan Murphy (Causeway), Dougie Fitzelle (Kilmoyley) Ger Stackpoole (Lixnaw)
No.8..& No.9.. Mikey Boyle (Ballyduff), Kieran Mc Carthy (Kilmoyley), Shane Mc Elligott (Lixnaw), John Griffin (Lixnaw), Barry O Mahony (Crotta), Jason Leahy (Causeway)
No.10.. Philip Lucid (Ballyheigue), James O Connor (Abbeydorney), Jordan Brick (Kilmoyley)
No.11.. Bryan Murphy (Causeway), Daniel Collins (Kilmoyley), Jordan Conway (Crotta)
No.12..David Griffin (St Brendans), Sean Maunsell (Kilmoyley) Brian Mc Auliffe (Lixnaw)
No.13..Shane Conway (Lixnaw), Brendan O Connor (St Brendans), Maurice O Connor (Kilmoyley)
No.14.. Brandon Barrett (Causeway), Shane Nolan (Crotta), Padraig Boyle (Ballyduff)
No.15..John Egan (St Brendans), Jack Goulding (Ballyduff), Joseph Mc Elligott (Kilmoyley).

Comments are closed.