Kerry Team To Face Cork This Sunday Announced

Posted by


By Mike O’Halloran

Shane Nolan.

THE Kerry Team to play Cork on Sunday at 2.00 pm in Tralee has been announced.

Martin Stackpoole of Lixnaw, who I presume is the number one shot stopper for the season ahead, returns between the sticks.

Niall O’Mahony and fellow Abbeydorney clubman James O’Connor are at four and five. Bryan Murphy takes the number six shirt as Jason Diggins moves to fullback.

The versatile John Buckley is in from the start at corner back, Sean Weir is rested, he was brilliant in the last couple of games, he was rested for most of the second half last week, but he is a certain starter for the season ahead.

Darren Dineen is named again this week, let’s hope we see him at his best on Sunday.

Continued below…


Brandon Barrett is given yet another different position this week as he is handed the number eight shirt. He joins Daithi Griffin in the centre of the pitch.

Colum Harty is at ten as he gets another opportunity to impress, Shane Nolan will wear eleven as he returns from illness. The ever busy Jordan Conway will be by his side.

Padraig Boyle, the captain, is selected at thirteen after clocking up 1-10 last week. Shane Conway will wear fourteen but expect him to have a roving role to allow him to show his array of skills, Maurice O’Connor gets the final starting position back to gold shirt.

The veteran Tom Murnane is named in the subs as is the up and coming Tomas O’Connor, Fionan Horgan has recovered from injury to the panel.

An impressive bench contains Daniel Collins, Sean Weir, Dougie Fitzell and Jack Goulding, they are joined by Stephen Murphy, Daniel O’Carroll, Philip Lucid, Evan Murphy and Paudie Quill.

A tough test awaits against a Cork team that are seeking their first win in the competition, but at the risk of repeating myself Kerry will use this as another hour to get their set on their best side for the game against London. Please come out to support them.

The team is as follows:

1 Martin Stackpoole Lixnaw
2 John Buckley Lixnaw
3 Jason Diggins Causeway
4 Niall O’Mahony Abbeydorney
5 James O’Connor Abbeydorney
6 Bryan Murphy Causeway
7 Darren Dineen St Brendan’s Ardfert
8 Brandon Barrett Causeway
9 Dathi Griffin St Brendan’s Ardfert
10 Colum Harty Causeway
11 Shane Nolan Crotta O’Neills
12 Jordan Conway Crotta O’Neills
13 Padraig Boyle Ballyduff (Captain)
14 Shane Conway Lixnaw
15 Maurice O’Connor Kilmoyley

16 Stephen Murphy Causeway
17 Tom Murnane Kilmoyley
18 Daniel O’Carroll Ballyduff
19 Sean Weir Crotta O’Neills
20 Dougie Fitzell Kilmoyley
21 Philp Lucid Ballyheigue
22 Jack Goulding Ballyduff
23 Evan Murphy Causeway
24 Tomás O’Connor Crotta O’Neills
25 Fionán Horgan St Brendan’s Ardfert
26 Paudie Quille Crotta O’Neills

Comments are closed.