Kilmoyley And Ballyduff The Victors In Kerry Hurling Championship Ties

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran was in Austin Stack Park yesterday for the two Garvey’s Supervalu Kerry Senior Hurling Championship ties…

Kilmoyley 3-18

Ballyheigue 1-9

The captains, Daniel Collins and Danny Casey, meet before the throw-in. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Ballyheigue bowed out of the Garvey’s SuperValu Kerry County Hurling Championship on Saturday evening but nor without putting it up to their neighbours.

Great credit must be given to the Ballyheigue club and their management for the efforts they have put in to revive the fortunes of their proud club.

Rome wasn’t built in a day but the foundation stones for a restoration job on Ballyheigue are well set for the future.

Continued below…


Ballyheigue raced into the perfect start when after forty eight seconds Michael Leane pointed, Philip Lucid added another as did Ronan Kenny.

Ballyheigue led by 0.07 to 0.01 on eleven minutes and were well in contention playing with the wind, Sean Maunsell added point for Kilmoyley with Conor Fitzell hitting the back of the net, Maurice drew Kilmoyley level with a point.

Some people argued that momentum Ballyheigue had built up was interrupted by the water break, maybe it was but their inside line found themselves in difficulty on a couple of occasions, Jordan Brick took advantage of one of those occasions by blasting to the net on thirty four minutes.

The score at halftime read Kilmoyley 2.08 Ballyheigue 1.09, the Ballyheigue goal coming form Michael Leane.

The Kilmoyley team. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Ballyheigue battled hard in the second half but could only manage two points both coming from Phillip Lucid, Kilmoyley 1.10 their third goal a one handed effort from Maurice O’Connor.

Kilmoyley:John Brendan O’Halloran, Sean Nolan, Colman Savage, Seanie Murnane, Robert Collins, James Godley, Dougie Fitzell, Kieran McCarthy, Donal Kearney, Joe McElligott, Daniel Collins Cpt, Sean Maunsell, Maurice O’Connor, Conor Fitzell, Jordan Brick.

Ballyheigue; John Mike Pierce, Danny Casey cpt, Damien Casey, Mark Dineen, Padraigh Behan, Michael Leane, Colin Mahony, Tommy O’Connor, Phillip Lucid, Brendan Walsh, Sean Colgan, Mikey O’Halloran, Kevin Reidy, Ronan Kenny, Declan Behan.

The Ballyheigue team. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Ballyduff 2-13

Crotta O’Neills 0-16

In my preview I stated that Crotta had “a young cast of hurlers that will trouble Ballyduff…expect Barry O’Mahony and his teammates to put Ballyduff to the ultimate test”.

Crotta did put Ballyduff to the pin of their collar and Barry O’Mahony was majestic for them.

Padraigh Boyle with a point and Jack Goulding with a goal had Ballyduff ahead with 3 minutes on the clock.

Continued below…


Action. from the game. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Jack Goulding added a further point, in-between Jordan Conway pointed for Crotta, Shane Nolan added two more with Jordan slipping one over to leave the score after twelve minutes Crotta 0-4 Ballyduff 1-2.

Jack Goulding and Eoin Ross added point but Shane Nolan put Crotta ahead with four points in a row.

With 26 minutes on the clock Jack O’Sullivan found Goulding who planted his second goal, three more points from Nolan had Crotta ahead at halftime 0-11 to 2-4, one of his points a fine high catch and a great finish.

Three points without reply saw Ballyduff regain the lead at the resumption one each from Michael Boyle, Jack Goulding and Padraig Boyle.

Shane Nolan reduced the margin to one on forty two minutes 2-8 to 0-13. On 45 minutes Michael Boyle was denied by Adam O’Sullivan from a penalty, a minute later Darragh O’Donoghue pointed to again leave a point between them.

Continued below…


Action from the game. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Padraig Boyle was short with a point effort and also missed a 65 before Paul O’Carroll tapped over but Shane Nolan had his eleventh point from halfway to set up a nail biting finish, Jack Goulding added two in a row Jordan Conway struck one over for Crotta, Padraig Boyle had the final score .

Crotta had a free scream across the Ballyduff goal for a wide and their chance of victory was gone.

Ballyduff finished with fourteen when Gary O’Brien was sent off. Crotta O’Neills while being disappointed with the result will be well pleased with their display.

Ballyduff not so much  as they march on, but stutter on, and the further they go in the competition they harder they become to beat.

Ballyduff: Liam Boyle, Darren O’Connor, Paud Costello (C), Anthony O’Carroll, David Goulding, Eoin Ross, Ally O’Connor, John Hussey, Michael Boyle, Jack O’Sullivan, Daniel O’Carroll, Paul O’Carroll, Jack Goulding, Gary O’Brien, Padraig Boyle.

Crotta O’Neills; Adam O’Sullivan, Thomas Quinlan, Sean Weir, Richard Nolan,Jeaic McKenna, Tomas O’Connor, Tom B McElligott,
Barry O’Mahony, Darragh Kennelly, Padraigh Quille, Jordan Conway, Eamonn Shanahan, Darragh O’Donoghue, Shane Nolan (C), Raymond Nolan.

Comments are closed.