Nominations Sought For Kerry Person Of The Year 2019

Posted by


Colm Cooper, recipient of Kerry Person Of The Year Award 2018, with former teammates Aidan O’Mahony and Paul Galvin at the ceremony in Dublin.

NOMINATIONS are welcome for the Kerry Association in Dublin, Kerry Person of the Year award 2019.

2019 will be a landmark year for the Kerry Person of the Year award as it will be the 40th anniversary of the award and they plan to make it in an incredible night to remember by having as many past recipients there as they can, including 2018 winner, Colm Cooper.

Also, Oiche Chiarraí, when the chosen person will receive their award, will move to the iconic Croke Park scene of so much glory for Kerry over the years.

Continued below…


In addition to the Kerry Person of the Year Award, the Kerry Association in Dublin was very proud to introduce a new group award in 2016, Laochra Chiarraí, which gives an opportunity to recognise a group or organisation in the Kerry community.

As is the case for the Kerry Person of the Year, the group selected must have shown leadership, brought honour to and performed community, charitable or other services to such an extent that could be described as being beyond the norm of everyday life.

The nomination deadline is the same as for Kerry Person of the Year i.e. January 4, 2019, with the recipients being formally presented with their award at Oíche Chiarraí, which will be held on Saturday, March 30, 2019 in Croke Park in Dublin.

The Kerry Association in Dublin is now accepting nominations for the next Kerry Person of the Year and the nomination form is available on their website and the Laochra Chiarraí award

The Kerry Association in Dublin dates back to 1951 and was established as a way to celebrate the people, culture and, most importantly, the sporting achievements of Kerry people and to bind together the “emigrants” of Kerry who have made Dublin their home.

List of previous Kerry Person Of The Year Awards…

2018 – Colm Cooper

2017 – Ted Moynihan(RIP)

2016 – Brian McCarthy

2015 – Danny Tim O’Sullivan

2014 – Archdeacon Michael Murphy

2013 – Luke Moriarty

2012 – Jimmy Deenihan
2011 – Crohan O’Shea
2010 – Dáithí Ó Sé
2009 – Margaret Culloty
2008 – Sean Kelly
2007 – Tadhg O’Donoghue
2006 – Jeremiah O’Donoghue
2005 – Jack O’Connor
2004 – Denis Geaney
2003 – Mick Galwey
2002 – Brian O’Mahony
2001 – Páidí Ó Sé (RIP)
2000 – Dick Spring
1998 – Mick O’Connell
1997 – Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh
1996 – Sr. Consilio
1995 – Ned O’Shea(RIP)
1994 – Paddy Culligan
1993 – John Curran
1992 – Fr. Pat Ahern
1991 – Brendan Kennelly
1990 – Dr. Paddy Moriarty (RIP)
1989 – John B. Keane (RIP)
1988 – Dr. Denis Brosnan
1987 – Dr. Bryan McMahon (RIP)
1986 – Mick O’Dwyer
1985 – Con Houlihan (RIP)
1984 – Pat Spillane
1983 – Eamonn Kelly (RIP)
1982 – Pat O’Connell
1981 – Pat Roche (RIP)
1980 – Sr. Stanislaus Kennedy
1979 – Dr. Michael Carmody

Comments are closed.