PHOTOS: Causeway Comprehensive Holds Annual Awards Night

Posted by


Principal Cathal Fitzgerald presenting the Junior Student of the Year award to Rachael Taylor.

THE annual student awards night for Causeway Comprehensive took place in the school on Tuesday with the awards were presented by Ms. Aoife Thornton, chairperson of the Board of Management.

There were a total of 140 awards presented on the night. This night is the culmination of the hard work and dedication of the students of Causeway Comprehensive School.

Jack O’Sullivan received the award for Outstanding Student of the Year in Leaving Certificate and Rachel Taylor was the Outstanding Student at Junior Cycle.

Niamh Brouder received the Canon Willie O’Connor Award for receiving the highest result in Irish in Leaving Certificate 2017. Niamh is currently studying Speech and Language Therapy in UCC.

Niamh also received the John O’Regan Award for achieving outstanding results in the Leaving Certificate overall.

Continued below…


Danny Duggan Fisher won the Lucille O’Sullivan Award for his inspiring approach and attitude towards school.

Shauna Dineen won the Spirit of the School Award in memory of the late Eileen Sheehan, whose family has made a major contribution to the school.

There were many other student awards presented on the night for areas including Sport, Book Club, Music and Culture, Attendance, and Diligence and Achievement.

Jack O’Sullivan, who won a Senior County Hurling Championship medal with Ballyduff in 2017, won the Senior Footballer of the Year Award.

Continued below…


Conor O’Keeffe who plays hurling with Lixnaw, won the Senior Hurling Award.

Caoimhe Shanahan from Lixnaw, won the Senior Camogie Player of the Year Award.

Katelyn O’Connor from Ballyduff, won the Senior Basketball Player of the Year Award.

Shane Duggan, Kerrie Daly and Shauna Dineen received special awards for full attendance in their five years at school.

The awards co-ordinator Timmy Leahy said; “It was a great night to celebrate the wonderful achievements of the staff and students of Causeway Comprehensive School”.

Chairperson of Board of Management Aoife Thornton and Principal Cathal Fitzgerald with Senior Student of the Year Jack O’Sullivan.


Some of the award winners on the night.

Comments are closed.