PHOTOS: Kerry Hurlers Retain Division 2A Hurling League Title In Style

Posted by

blasket insert new

Mike O’Halloran reports on a great victory for Kerry yesterday in the Allianz Hurling League Division 2A Hurling Final…

Kerry Hurling Champs

The Kerry team who retained their Division 2A hurling league crown in Limerick yesterday. Photo by Mike O’Hallora.

Kerry 5-17

Westmeath 3-17

KERRY hurlers have defended their Division 2A title in style in the Gaelic Grounds Limerick in some style on Saturday.

Kerry led by nine points at halftime and were full value for that margin. Kerry had rattled the net five times in that period as well as adding eights points, the scoreboard reading Kerry 5-8 to Westmeath 1-11.

Continued below…

INEC Ring Cycle insert

Kerry hurling John Griffin 1

Kerry captain John Griffin making his victory speech. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Kerry were superior to Westmeath in all areas of the field and were better able to move the ball from the back through midfield up to their scoring forwards.

The final score read Kerry 5-17 Westmeath 3-17, Westmeath can rue a disallowed 20m free and a save from James Logue in the Kerry goals in the second half, but truth be told this would have been daylight robbery if Kerry had not won.

Kerry head to Parnell Park Dublin next weekend to attempt to gain promotion to Division 1 B where they take on Antrim.

The display today can only make Kerry favourites to progress from this game.

Kerry Hurling Ballyduff Boys 1

Ballyduff players Paud Costello, Mikey Boyle, Padraig Boyle and Giles Grady after the game yesterday. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Kerry Hurling Darren Dineen's Fans

Kerry fans at the match yesterday. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Kerry Hurling Daniel Collins Fan club

Kerry fans at the match yesterday. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Kerry Hurling supporting Brian Murphy

Kerry fans at the match yesterday. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Scorers for Kerry: M Boyle 2-2, P Boyle 0-7 (6f), S Nolan 1-3, C Harty 1-2, K Carmody 1-0, J Griffin, P Kelly, J Flaherty 0-1 each.

Scorers for Westmeath: D Clinton 1-4, D McNicholas 2-1, N O’Brien 0-5 (5f), B Murtagh (1f), C Boyle 0-2 each, E Price, A Devine, N Dowdall 0-1 each.

J Logue; D Fitzell, D Dineen, B Murphy; S Weit, D Collins, P Costello; J Griffin, P Kelly; M O’Leary, S Nolan, C Harty; M Boyle, P Boyle, K Carmody. Subs: J Egan for O’Leary (31 mins), P Lucid for Kelly (56-60 blood), J Flaherty for Egan (57), T Casey for Carmody (64), P Lucid for Harty (66), A Royle for Weir (69).

P Collins; S Power, T Doyle, A Price; G Greville, A Clarke, L Varley; E Price, J Clarke; A Devine, B Murtagh, R Greville; N O’Brien, D McNicholas, D Clinton. Subs: A Craig for A Price (16 mins), C Boyle for Varley (h-t), A McGrath for J Clrke (47), N Dowdall for Devine (54), E Corrigan for O’Brien (61).

Comments are closed.