REPORT/PHOTOS: Sem Boys Prove Too Strong For CBS Side In Cup Final

Posted by
Charlies Bar Xmas Insert


A report from Tralee CBS on the Brother Taft Munster Under 15A final played on Friday in Killarney…

St Brendan’s Killarney 4-13

Tralee CBS 2-9

CBS Sem 6

Sean Kennedy scored 1-7 for CBS.

Tralee CBS were no match ultimately for a Sem team who upped the ante with four second half goals to claim their 13th U15 premier title in Munster.

The Green started brightly with the opening two points from Sean Kennedy (f) and John Carmody, but the Killarney outfit quickly asserted their superiority scoring five points without reply.

Niall Fitzmaurice was excelling in a sweeper role and was linking well with Joe Linehan and Dylan Moriarty who engineered two more pointed frees from Kennedy to leave the scores 0-5 points to 0-4 after 20 minutes. However the Sem tagged on two more to leave the score at 0-7 to 0-4 at the break.

Continued below…

Kerry ETB Insert 1


From the restart, the Green got within two with another Kennedy point, but two goals in quick succession put the Killarney boys into what was proved to be an unassailable lead.

Conor OSullivan was felled and Kennedy converted a penalty to give the Green some hope but another Sem goal put paid to that.

CBS Sem 1

Conor O’Sullivan and Jack Moriarty defend for CBS.

Substitute Jordan Kissane was set up by Cian Purcell and netted for Green with 15 left again renewing hope with the deficit reduced to 0-6, but a further goal late on left the final deficit at 10.

A deserved victory then for the Sem as they continue their dominance of school football, adding the second of the 6 schools titles on offer in 2016/17 having won the O’Sullivan Cup (Under 18 1/2) in October.

CBS Sem 3

The CBS team which lost to St Brendan’s Killarney.

CBS Sem 4

Jordan Kissane attempts to set up Dylan Moriarty.

CBS Sem 2

The CBS team huddles before the start.

CBS Sem 5

CBS captain Joe Linehan.

Tralee CBS Team
1 Ben Quilter (Austin Stacks)
2 Terrance Carmody (Tralee Parnells)
3 Luke Chester (Austin Stacks)
4 Caoimhin Finn (Churchill)
5 David Moriarty (Currow)
6 Armin Heinrich (Austin Stacks)
7 Dara Hickson Spillane (Annascaul)
8 Sean Kennedy (Annascaul)
9 Dylan Moriarty (Ballymac)
10 Niall Fitzmaurice (Austin Stacks)
11 John Carmody (Tralee Parnells)
12 Jack Moriarty (Currow)
13 Cian Purcell (Austin Stacks)
14 Joseph Linehan (c) (Churchill)
15 Conor OSullivan (Keirns ORahillys)

17 Jordan Kissane (Austin Stacks) HT
18 Darragh Leen (Ballymac)42mins
20 Ciaran Commane (Finuge)40mins

Subs not used
16 Eoin Relihan (St Senans)
19 Ciaran O’Leary (John Mitchels)
21 Jordan Mason (John Mitchels)
22 Owen Healy (Austin Stacks)
23 Conor Horan (Austin Stacks)
24 Stephen Nix (Keirns ORahillys)
25 Daragh Broderick (Ballymac)
26 Daragh Moriarty Falvey (St Pats, Blennerville)
27 Brian Hamilton (Churchill)
28 Sam McCarthy (Keirns ORahillys)
29 Cian Kearney (Churchill)
30 Jerome Daly (Keirns ORahillys)
31 Jack Savage (Keirns ORahillys)
32 Greg Scanlan (Austin Stacks)
33 Devon Burns (NaGaeil)

Comments are closed.