PREVIEW: Kerry To Have Enough To Beat Kildare In League Clash

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran previews Sunday’s clash between Kerry and Kildare in the Allianz National Hurling League Division 2A clash in Newbridge at 2pm…

Shane Nolan will be in action this Sunday.

The Kerry hurling team for Sunday contains a number of changes from the loss to Carlow.

Jordan Conway does not make the starting team sheet and neither does Darren Dineen. Colum Harty who has started the previous games is to start on the bench, Stephen Murphy makes way for Martin Stackpoole.

The exciting young Crotta O’Neills star Barry O’Mahony wears number twenty three. It’s a massive game for the Kerry hurlers as they travel to Newbridge to take on Kildare, this is a must win game for Kerry after their slip up against Carlow two weeks ago.

Continued below…


In fact every game is a must win game for them now on, along with winning games they must keep an eye on how much they concede and attempt to amass big winning margins as scoring difference could come into play at seasons end.

Kildare have always provided stiff opposition over the past few years in Newbridge,       even though the Kerry record of wins there is pretty good.

Michael Boyle will line out at centre back, he made an appearance against Carlow. Martin Stackpoole gets the start between the post as he returns from injury also.

The fullback line of John Buckley, Bryan Murphy and Sean Weir remains the same. Tomas O’Connor make his first start at right half back Michael Boyle at centre back with Daniel Collins moving to wing back.

Brandon Barrett and Daithi Griffin are the midfield pairing again even though both were an injury doubt during the week.

Brendan O’Leary starts at number ten, his first start in the league, Shane Nolan is at centre forward, Daniel O’Carroll moves to the left wing, a position that should suit him better than full forward.

Padraig Boyle the captain continues at number thirteen, the mercurial Shane Conway operates at full forward with a roaming role I’d guess, Kilmoyley man Maurice O’Connor gets the number fifteen shirt.

An improvement in intensity and better first touch should see Kerry have enough to come away with the two points.

The team in full.

Martin Stackpoole; John Buckley, Bryan Murphy, Sean Weir; Tomas O’Connor, Michael Boyle, Daniel Collins; Brandon Barrett, Daithi Griffin; Brendan O’Leary, Shane Nolan, Daniel O’Carroll; Padraig Boyle, Shane Conway, Maurice O’Connor.

16. Stephen Murphy, 17. Fionan Horgan, 18. Jordan Conway, 19. Colum Harty, 20. Paudie O’Connor, 21. Jack Goulding, 22. Philip Lucid. 23. Barry O’Mahony, 24. Paudie O’Connor. 25, Evan Murphy. 26. Darren Dineen.

Comments are closed.