PREVIEW: Kerry Team To Face Wicklow In All-Ireland Final Named

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran can’t see anything other than a Kerry win this weekend as the team to face Wicklow in the All-Ireland Under 21B final…

The Kerry U21B hurling panel. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

The Kerry U21 hurling team take on Wicklow in the final of The All Ireland Under 21 B Hurling on Saturday at 1pm in Thurles and from my point of view I can see nothing other than a comprehensive win for the Kerry boys.

They demolished Meath in the last round and saw off Donegal with ease in their first game. Wicklow had good wins against Roscommon and Kildare, overcoming the latter by two points.

The quality of forwards that Kerry can call on is the basis of my confidence in predicting an easy win for the Kingdom.

Continued below…


Led by Shane Conway, who will be one of the standout hurlers on display on Saturday and that includes players from Kilkenny and Limerick, if there was a scouting system and a transfer market operating in the GAA he would surely command a huge fee for his signature.

It would be fitting if Lixnaw man Darragh Shanahan was to raise the Richie McElligott Cup as Richie was one one of the all-time stars of Lixnaw.

He played with his club county and represented Munster in The Railway Cup alongside Christy Ring and Jimmy Doyle. There’ll  be bonfires in Lixnaw on Saturday night.

The Kerry Under 21 Hurling team to play Wicklow in the All Ireland Under 21 “B” Championship Final in Semple Stadium Thurles on Saturday at 1pm is as follows:

1 Stephen Murphy            Causeway

2 Stevie O’Sullivan            Abbeydorney

3 Daragh Shanahan (C)     Lixnaw

4 Billy Lyons                            Causeway

5 Eoin Ross         Ballyduff

6 Jason Diggins         Causeway

7 John Buckley                        Lixnaw

8 Barry O’Sullivan         Dingle

9 Tomás O’Connor         Crotta O’Neills

10 Brandon Barrett                 Causeway

11 Michael O’Leary                Abbeydorney

12 Jordan Brick         Kilmoyley

13 Maurice O’Connor             Kilmoyley

14 Shane Conway          Lixnaw

15 Jack Goulding                     Ballyduff

Fir Ionaid:

16 Robert Silles       Lixnaw

17 Adrian O’Mahony              Crotta O’Neills

18 Ronan Donovan                  Abbeydorney

19 Liam Mullins                      Lixnaw

20 Robert Collins                    Kilmoyley

21 Jack Lenihan                       Dr Crokes

22 Daniel O’Carroll                 Ballyduff

23 Darragh Ryan                     Crotta O’Neills

The 1954 Lixnaw championship winning team including Richie McElligott.

Comments are closed.