PREVIEW: Kerry May Have To Win Big Against Meath On Sunday

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran says Kerry will probably need to win by a good margin against Meath if they want to keep their Division 2A title hopes alive…

Gotcha!…Mikey Boyle reached highest to catch the sliotar during the Kerry v Meath Christy Ring Cup match in Austin Stack Park back in 2015.

THE big news from the Kerry hurling camp is the omission of Shane Nolan from the starting fifteen for the crunch game against Meath at Austin Stack Park on Sunday at 12.30p.m.

Padraig Boyle is named at centre forward with Jack Goulding his fellow club man taking the number thirteen shirt a shirt that has been worn by Boyle since the beginning of the season.

Brendan O’Leary who had a stormer up in Newbridge last Sunday against Kildare starts again at left half forward.

The fullback line is a very settled line with the same three players lining out there for the last few games.

Continued below…


Michael Boyle is to wear the number six shirt flanked by Tomas O’Connor and Daniel Collins.

The midfield pairing remains the same, Paudie O’Connor will operate at ten, a hugely talented and mobile full forward line is completed by the two Conway’s Jordan and Shane.

No ifs or buts about it, this is a must win game and a match that has to be won by a margin in order to travel to Westmeath next Sunday with a good scoring difference in the bag, as a win on its own may not be enough depending on other results.

But have no doubt this team will not take anything for granted against a Meath team that stunned them last season in the Leinster championship winning by six points with a direct brand of powerful hurling.

1 Martin Stackpoole Lixnaw
2 John Buckley Lixnaw
3 Bryan Murphy Causeway
4 Sean Weir Crotta O’Neills
5 Tomás O’Connor Crotta O’Neills
6 Michael Boyle Ballyduff
7 Daniel Collins Kilmoyley
8 Brandon Barrett Causeway
9 Dáithí Griffin St. Brendans Ardfert
10 Paudie O’Connor Kilmoyley
11 Padraig Boyle (captain) Ballyduff
12 Brendan O’Leary Abbeydorney
13 Jack Goulding Ballyduff
14 Shane Conway Lixnaw
15 Jordan Conway Crotta O’Neills

16 Stephen Murphy Causeway
17 James O’Connor Abbeydorney
18 Darren Dineen St Brendans Ardfert
19 Colum Harty Causeway
20 Shane Nolan Crotta O’Neills
21 Maurice O’Connor Kilmoyley
22 Daniel O’Carroll Ballyduff
23 Barry O’Mahony Crotta O’Neills
24 Philip Lucid Ballyheigue
25 Pa Kelly Clarecastle
26 Tom Murnane Kilmoyley

Comments are closed.