REPORT: All-Ireland Champs Limerick Defeat Kerry In Tralee

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran was in Austin Stack Park on Thursday night to see Kerry take on the All-Ireland champions in the The C0-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League…

Limerick 4-14

Kerry 0-11

The Kerry team which face Limerick in Tralee on Thursday night.

The All Ireland Hurling champions came to Tralee last night to take on Kerry in The C0-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League.

They arrived with six of their championship winning team and 799 souls showed up to witness Limerick put Kerry to the sword without ever getting into top gear.

Limerick led by two goals to a point within minutes, the goals coming David Reidy and Oisin O’Reilly. Michael O’Leary drove over a great point in-between, starting very impressively for Kerry.

Continued below…


Limerick spurned a further goal chance from Seamus Flanagan before Barry Murphy fired over a pointed free. It looked at this stage that it was going to be a cake walk for Limerick but Kerry rallied for a period and had the next three points, one from Michael O’Leary a pointed free from Shane Conway and a beauty from Jordan Conway after an intercept.

Tom Morrissey, Colin Ryan and Barry Murphy added a point each for Limerick but Shane Conway struck back for Kerry with a point after Michael O’Leary worked hard to present him with the chance.

Shane Conway added another before half time to leave the score Kerry 0-06 Limerick 2-04.

The first score of the second half was a goal for Limerick when Graham Mulcahy waltzed past Brian Murphy, Shane Conway replied with a point but Limerick had the next six points one each from Gearoid Hegarty and Seamus Flanagan and four from the Doon clubman Barry Murphy.

Continued below…


Padraigh Boyle won possession from a Shane Conway free and pointed, Colin Ryan and Gearoid Hegarty pointed for Limerick before Padraig Boyle pointed a free. That free was followed by a class point from the Causeway man Jason Diggins.

A sideline cut from Gearoid Hegarty made it 3-13 to 0-10 and then Oisin O’Reilly was at the end of a move that saw him nudge the ball over the line for goal number four.

Padraig Boyle had Kerry’s last score while a point and Oisin O’Reilly’s point made it Limerick 4-14 Kerry 0-11

LIMERICK: Barry Hennessy, William O’Meara (Ronan Connolly), Sean Finn, Lorcan Lyons(Aaron Costello); Diarmaid Byrnes, Dan Morrissey, Paddy O’Loughlin; Robbie Hanley, Colin Ryan; Gearoid Hegarty, David Reidy(Graeme Mulcahy), Tom Morrissey; Barry Murphy, Seamus Flanagan, Oisin O’Reilly.

KERRY: Martin Stackpoole; Sean Weir, Bryan Murphy, Eric Leen(James O’Connor), Jason Diggins, Michael Boyle, Patrick Kelly (Mike Slattery) Daithi Griffin(Niall O’Mahony), Brandon Barrett; Jordan Conway, Michael O’Leary, Michael Leane(Evan Murphy) Jack Goulding, Shane Conway, Dan Goggin(Padraig Boyle).

Comments are closed.