REPORT: Kerry Get Back On Track In Joe McDonagh Cup

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran on Kerry’s win against Laois in the Joe McDonagh Cup in Austin Stack Park in Tralee on Sunday…

Kerry 3-20

Laois 0-19

Three goals in the first half set Kerry on their way to their first win in the Joe McDonagh Cup,.

The first goal came from Jack Goulding a minute and a half into the game, it was 32 minutes before the next goal come from Brendan O’Leary and in between Kerry had points from Shane Conway with four Jack Goulding with one from a sideline cut along, Shane Nolan.

Brandon Barrett and Sean Weir had a point each to leave the score at that stage Kerry 2-08 Laois 0-8.

Continued below…


Laois had lost their influential full back Leigh Bergin early in the game to injury and were struck with a hammer blow when they were reduced to fourteen straight after O’Leary’s goal.

Shane Nolan also found the net on his return from injury three minutes into added time of the first half and Shane Conway had a pointed free to leave the halftime score Kerry 3-10 Laois 0-09.

Barry O’Mahony opened the scoring in the second half, Kerry tacked on nine more points before the end along with seven wides, they had ten wides in the first half.

Laois also scored ten points as they refused to lie down against the odds, Ross King added four points from frees, Ben Conroy had two fine points but Kerry kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Sean Weir wearing number two had his second point on sixty nine minutes, Maurice O’Connor had the final score of the game.

Kerry are back on track in this competition and if they can secure a home win against Westmeath next Sunday they can fancy their chances to progress to the final.

Westmeath put 4-24 past Meath today but Meath were able to put up 2-17, Kerry feel they are better than Meath and will hope that if they can get 2-17 they will have enough to get past Westmeath.

TEAM: 1. Martin Stackpoole 2 Sean Weir(0-2) 3 John Buckley  4 Bryan Murphy(0-1) 5 Brandon Barrett(0-1)6 Daniel Collins  7 Tom Murnane 8 Shane Nolan(1-2) 9 Brendan O’Leary(1-0) 10 Dáithí Griffin 11 Michael Boyle12 Barry O’Mahony(0-2)  13 Jack Goulding (1-2)14 Padraig Boyle 15 Shane Conway (0-9)
Replacements used : Daniel O’Carroll, Maurice O’Connor (0-1), James O’Connor, Jason Diggins, Tomas O’Connor,

Comments are closed.