REPORT: Kerry Make All-Ireland Final After Victory Over Sligo

Posted by


Kerry Under 21 Hurlers defeated Sligo to reach the final of Bord Gais Energy Under 21 B All Ireland Hurling against Derry in two weeks time. Mike O’Halloran was there…

Kerry 4-26

Sligo 0-08

Action from the game. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

The scoreboard read 4.25 but the referee confirmed the score as 4-26. A comprehensive victory for the Kerry Under 21 hurlers in the All Ireland Under 21 B semifinal.

Kerry went into the lead forty seconds from the throw in when Jordan Conway fired over a point from the right into the wind and never relinquished their lead.

Fifteen minutes later they led by five points, 0-8 to 0-3, with scores coming from Michael Leane (2), Brandon Barrett (2), and one each from Niall O’Mahony, Shane Conway and Shane McElligott who started instead of Tomas O’Connor.

Continued below…


Mickey Gordon, Kevin Banks and Joe McHugh had the Sligo scores. Stephen Mulligan added another for Sligo before Kerry completely took over and scored 2-5 without reply before halftime.

The goals came from Shane Conway and Maurice O’Connor, Shane Conway also added four points with Jack O’Sullivan chipping in a point on 31 minutes.

Kerry introduced Gearoid O’Mahony and Jeremy McKenna at halftime for Shane Conway and Maurice O’Connor, Brandon Barrett took over the free taking duties he converted five before the end.

The Kerry U21 hurling team. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Jordan Conway and Jack O’Sullivan had a goal each, Kerry had points from play from Michael Leane (2), Niall O’Mahony, Jason Diggins, Ronan Donovan and Brandon Barrett.

Sligo added four points in the second half — Joe McHugh with three and Kieran Prior with one.

Kerry finished with fourteen as Jason Diggins had to leave the field through injury and with all the subs being used he could not be replaced.

Kerry Team. 1. David Silles 2.Ronan Donovan (1Pt) 3. Evan Murphy, 4. Billy Lyons, 5. Gearóid Fennessy, 6. Jason Diggins (2pts), 7. Niall O’Mahony (2pts),18. Shane McElligott (1pt), 9. Fionán MacKessy, 10. Jack O’Sullivan(1g 1pt), 11 Michael Leane (6pts), 12. Jordan Conway (1g 1pt)13. Maurice O’Connor (1g), 14 Brandon Barrett (7pts), 15. Shane Conway (1g 5pts).

Replacements; Geroid O’Mahony for Shane Conway. Jeremy McKenna for Maurice O’Connor, Barry O’Mahony for Fionan MacKessey, Darragh Ryan for Jordan Conway, Darragh Kennelly for Brandon Barrett.


Comments are closed.