REPORT: Lixnaw And Kilmoyley Advance To County Hurling Final

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran watched the two Garvey’s Supervalu Kerry SHC semi-finals in Austin Stack Park…

Lixnaw 1-17

Causeway 0-15

Lixnaw overcame a highly fancied Causeway team by five points in a game where Lixnaw backs were in no mood top allow the inside line any room or any time on the ball.

Declan McCarthy was introduced for Jeremy McKenna and he put his stamp on the game from early on.

Lixnaw led by a point at half-time, nine points to eight, Shane Conway had accounted for all but one of the points with James Flaherty also pointing.

Causeway had points from Brandon Barrett (4), Colum Harty (1), Joe Diggins with two and one from Bryan Murphy.

Continued below…


Causeway were level almost from the restart when Keith Carmody pointed, but three Shane Conway frees in a row put Lixnaw in charge.

Brandon Barrett also had three points from frees, but in-between his points, Lixnaw replied with three, one from Brendan Brosnan and two from Shane Conway.

Barrett reduced the margin to two before Shane Conway bore down on goals from the left and scooped the ball to the net despite the best efforts of Tommy Barrett to keep it out, Lixnaw into a five point lead at this stage 1-15 to 0-13.

The two Conways exchanged points with Brandon Barrett and the tireless Jason Leahy to leave the final score Lixnaw 1-17 Causeway 0-15.

Lixnaw used all their experience to manage the game better than Causeway and that was the difference.

Lixnaw Team: Martin Stackpoole, Michael Quilter, Stephen Power, Pat Corridon, Gerard Stackpoole, Darragh Shanahan, Brendan Brosnan(0.01)(Raymond Galvin),John Griffin, Shane McElligott, Declan McCarthy, Ricky Heffernan, Brian McAuliffe, Shane Conway(1.14), Michael Conway (0.01)

Causeway Team: Stephen Murphy, Mark Murphy, Billy Lyons, Tommy Barrett (0.01), Colum Harty (0.01)Jason Diggins, Evan Murphy, Jason Leahy (0.01), Joseph Diggins (0.02), Keith Carmody (0.01)(John Mike Dooley), Bryan Murphy(0.01), Anthony Fealy(Tommy Casey), Gavin Dooley, Brandon Barrett(0.08), Dan Goggin(Gearoid O’Mahony).

Kilmoyley 0-20

Ballyduff 0-19

In the second semifinal the reigning county champions were toppled by Kilmoyley by a point.

‘Super Mac’ Joe McElligott sent the Kilmoyley followers home glowing with the point to see them home.

Jordan Brick had Kilmoyley up and running within a minute before Jack Goulding replied for Ballyduff, Daniel Collins, Kieran O’Regan and Jordan again had Kilmoyley leading by three before a point each from Padraig Boyle and Jack Goulding reduced the margin to one.

Joe McElligott tapped over for Kilmoyley as their inside line were beginning to worry Ballyduff. On sixteen minutes Robert Collins had Kilmoyley back in front after Paul O’Carroll had levelled for Ballyduff.

Jordan Brick struck to put Kilmoyley two ahead before three in a row from Padraig Boyle put Ballyduff in front by one 0-8 to 0-7.

Tom Murnane levelled for Kilmoyley, Boyle replied Maurice O’Connor levelled and then put Kilmoyley ahead by one, his fellow corner forward Joe McElligott had Kilmoyley ahead 0-11 to 0-9 at half-time.

Sean Maunsell and Michael Boyle exchanged points, Padraig Boyle with three points and Jack O’Sullivan with one had Ballyduff ahead by two but Jordan Brick and Sean Maunsell hauled it back to a level game with a point each.

Jack O’Sullivan again and Padraig Boyle had points only for Sean Maunsell to keep Kilmoyley in touch.

Liam Boyle who had come off the bench put Ballyduff back in front by two 0.17 to 0.15.
Maurice O’Connor bore down on goals Michael Boyle who was already on a yellow hauled him to the ground another yellow resulted and Micheal was sent off.

Collins tapped over followed Joe McElligott level again. Jack Goulding kept the faint hopes of Ballyduff alive with a point. Daniel Collins had Kilmoyley’s nineteenth point, then up stepped Super Mac Joe to break the deadlock and Ballyduff hearts with a fine point.

Ballyduff Team: PJ O’Gorman, Ally O’Connor, Padraig O’Grady, Anthony O’Carroll, David Goulding, Paud Costello, Eoin Ross,John Hussey (Liam Boyle 0.01), Michael Boyle (0.01), Jack O’Sullivan (0.02), Daniel O’Carroll, Paul O’Carroll (0.01) Jack Goulding (0.03) Aiden Boyle, Padraig Boyle (0.11)

Kilmoyley Team: John B O’Halloran, Sean Nolan, James Godley, Seanie Murnane, Robert Collins (0.01,) Tom Murnane (0.01),Kieran O’Regan (0.01), Kieran McCarthy, Jordan Brick (0.04), Daniel Collins (0.03), Sean Maunsell (0.03), Maurice O’Connor (0.02), Flor McCarthy, Joe McElligott (0.05)

Comments are closed.