REPORT/PHOTOS: Kerry U21 Hurlers Win All-Ireland B Final

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran saw Kerry win the Bord Gais Energy GAA Hurling U21B Championship Final yesterday…

Kerry 2-20

Derry 0-11

Photo by Mike O’Halloran

In this final played in Nowlan Park Kilkenny on a carpet like surface, Kerry completely outplayed a Derry side that flattered to decieve early on as they drew level with Kerry on on seven minutes three points all.

Fionan MacKessey put Kerry four points to three ahead a minute later and Kerry never lost that lead.

Jason Diggins the Kerry captain pointed as did Jordan Conway, Derry had their fourth point from Richie Mullan who was quite impressive when he received any kind of ball, but the Kerry backs made sure he did not receive that supply very often.

Continued below…


Before halftime Kerry were down to fourteen but still managed to bag a further goal and three points, Shane Conway supplying the points and Jordan Conway finding the net.

Shane Conway’s shot goes out for a 65. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Kerry led 1-9 to 0-6 at halftime Corey O’Reilly and and Richie Mullan tapping over a point each for Derry.

Even though Kerry were playing with fourteen in the second half sometimes it looked as if they had the extra man so dominant were they in all sectors of the field.

Barry O’Mahony opened their account with a point in the second period followed by points from Michael Leane with Shane Conway providing two before Gearoid Fennessey had a point shortly after his introduction.

Continued below…


A young supporter with the cup and players. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Shane Conway added two more points as did Michael Leane, Eoin Ross chipped in with a goal and Brandon Barrett also had a point.

Derry only added five points in the second half, their huge effort was not enough for this smooth running skilful hurling machiene that is the Kerry under 21 team.

This team find themselves in the dilemma of being too good for the B competition and perhaps not good enough for the A competition, there needs to be a three-tier competition.

Kerry Team;
1.David Silles, 2 Eric Leen( Billy Lyons) 3 Evan Murphy, 4 Niall O’Mahony 5 Eoin Ross (1.01), 6 Jason Diggins, Captain 7 Barry O’Mahony (0.01) 8 Tomás O’Connor (Ronan Donovan), 9 Fionán MacKessy (0.01), 10 Jack O’Sullivan(0.01) (Gearoid Fennessey (0.01) 11 Michael Leane (0.03)( Kieran O’Regan), 12 Jordan Conway (1.01) 13 Maurice O’Connor (Gearoid O’Mahony) 14 Brandon Barrett (0.01) 15 Shane Conway (0.09). Replacements not utilised today. Adam O’Sullivan, Shane McElligott, Darragh Ryan, Colin Sheehy

Jason Diggins with the cup. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Brandon Barrett Evan Murphy. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Comments are closed.