REPORT/PHOTOS: Lixnaw Are Champs After Dramatic Ending To County Final

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran reports on today’s Garvey’s Supervalu Kerry Senior Hurling Championship Final at Austin Stack Park…

Lixnaw 1-16

Kilmoyley 2-11

Action from the Lixnaw v Kilmoyley county final. Photo by Dermot Crean

IT was heartache for Kilmoyley as a saved penalty by Martin Stackpoole denied them victory with the final puck of the game.

Well according to the referee it was the final puck, but Maurice O’Connor had the final puck in the net from the rebound, but it did not count.

A few minutes earlier, another goal chance went flying past the far post for a wide for Kilmoyley. Kilmoyley had clawed their way back into contention after being 1-11 to 1-5 down, but a 43rd minute goal from Maurice O’Connor reignited their challenge.

Continued below…


Action from the Lixnaw v Kilmoyley county final. Photo by Dermot Crean

John Griffin had scored the Lixnaw goal eighteen minutes earlier to leave the score then Lixnaw 1-6 Kilmoyley 1-1.

Lixnaw led by five points at halftime 1-7 to 1-2, Daniel Collins had drifted in to the Kilmoyley box to give Martin Stackpoole no chance in the Lixnaw goal.

Shane Conway was superb in the first half ably assisted by Micheal Quilter who was most impressive at the back for Lixnaw.

Action from the Lixnaw v Kilmoyley county final. Photo by Dermot Crean

Four minutes into the second half the two Conways had points to put Lixnaw ahead by five, Joe McElligott reduced it to four before Shane Conway tapped over two frees.

With fourteen minutes to go, Kilmoyley reduced the margin to two with a fine point, Shane McEligott and Shane Conway added a point each with Collins having one in-between.

The teams were level with three minutes to go but again Shane Conway put Lixnaw back in front with two points in succession, 1-16 to 2-11 and that’s how it ended.

Lixnaw players celebrate at the final whistle. Photo by Dermot Crean

Kilmoyley Team, scorers; John B O’Halloran, Seanie Murnane, James Godley, Sean Nolan, Robert Colins, Tom Murnane, Dougie Fitzell, Flor McCarthy, Kieran McCarthy, Jordan Brick, Daniel Collins(1.08,7f), Sean Maunsell (Eoin McCarthy) Maurice O’Connor(1.00), Kieran O’Regan(0.02), Joe McElligott (0.01).

Lixnaw Team scorers; Martin Stackpoole, Michael Quilter, Stephen Power  Declan McCarthy, Gerard Stackpoole, Darragh Shanahan, Pat Corridon, John Griffin(1.00), Brendan Brosnan, Shane McElligott,(0.01), Ricky Heffernan, Brian McAuliffe, Shane Conway (13, 8f) Michael Conway(0.01), Colin Sheehy(0.01).

Replacements used Jeremy McKenna, Reggie Galvin, John Buckley, Jonathan Silles,

Comments are closed.