REPORT/PHOTOS: St Brendan’s Complete Display Of Hurling Sees Off Causeway’s Efforts

Posted by
Kerry ETB Insert


Mike O’Halloran saw St Brendan’s show their title contending credentials against Causeway in Lerrig yesterday…

St Brendan’s Ardfert 3-19

Causeway 1-16

John Egan under pressure

John Egan of St Brendan’s comes under pressure. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

A complete display of hurling at its finest saw St Brendan’s advance in Round 2A of the Garvey’s Supervalu Kerry Senior Hurling Championship.

St Brendan’s who played into a very stiff breeze in the first half, held their own with Causeway, leaving the score at halftime Causeway 0-10 to St Brendan’s 1-7.

Kevin Skinner put St Brendan’s on their way with a goal on nine minutes, the organisation and sheer confidence of St Brendan’s choked the challenge posed by a determined Causeway and a huge wind.

Continued below…

KCFE Insert 1


John Egan, Cian Hussey, and Darren Wallace were very effective for the winners up front and Darren Dineen was massive at centre back.

In the second half, Cian Hussey was at the end of a long clearance and was able to goal past Tadgh Flynn, who was drafted into the goals to try to get some length into the pucks out against the wind.

Jason Leahy 1

Jason Leahy of Causeway in possession. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

St Brendan’s were 3-13 to 0-12 up with fifteen minutes to go, when Cian struck for another goal.

Keith Carmody scored a goal and a point in an attempt to start a Causeway revival but it was not enough, as Egan, Wallace and Hussey saw out the victory with points at will.

St Brendan’s have been very impressive in their two games to date and are well on the road to redemption for their loss in last year’s final. The only negative from a St Brendan’s point of view was that they finished with fourteen men.

St Brendan’s

St Brendans team

The St Brendan’s panel before the match against Causeway. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Darren Delaney, Fionan Horgan (Eric leen (1pt), Rory Horgan, Conor Flaherty, Eamonn Corridon, Darren Dineen (2pts f), Kevin Orpen (Daniel Finnegan), Stephen Leen, David Griffin, Tim Hannafin (1pt) Darren Wallace (2pts) Kevin Skinner (1gl 1pt), Cian Hussey (2gls 4pts), Nicky O’Sullivan, John Egan (8pts)


Causeway team

The Causeway panel before the match against St Brendan’s. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Jamie McGrath (Tadgh Flynn), Fergus Carroll, Kieran Leahy, Billy Lyons, Keith Carmody (1gl 3pts), Bryan Murphy, Jason Diggins, Anthony Fealy, Jason Leahy (2pts), Eamonn Fitzgerald ( John Cantillon) (Sean Leahy), Tommy Casey (1pt), Mark Murphy (1pt), Paul McGrath (0-7), Stephen Murphy, Alan Whyte (1pt) (Adam Whyte (1pt) (Joseph Diggins)

Comments are closed.