St Brendans Basketball Club News

Posted by

Bruddy Burrows Memorial U12 Tournament

The Bruddy Burrows Memorial U12 Tournament took place last Saturday at Moyderwell and was a fantastic event with great basketball action throughout the day.

In the end there could only be one winner and St. Mary’s Castleisland edged out the hosts St. Brendan’s in a very exciting final. St. Mary’s captain Shane Kelliher accepted the Bruddy Burrows Memorial Cup from Seanie Burrows and Killian Dennehy from St. Mary’s was selected as MVP of the tournament .

In the Shield Final St. Paul’s Killarney overcame St. Brendan’s in another very competitive decider. The Plate Final will be decided in the West of Ireland when Sligo All Stars take on Moycullen over Christmas as both sides, having got to the final, had to leave before the scheduled time for the decider.

Thanks to everybody who contributed to the running of the tournament including Pa Carey, Elaine Burrows Dillane, Martha Hughes and Jane Doyle. Thanks to all the referees for officiating throughout the day.

Thanks to all the teams for competing including Maree and Moycullen from Galway, Sligo All Stars, Limerick Lions, Blue Demons, Ballincollig, Tralee Imperials, St. Mary’s, St. Paul’s and TK Bobcats.

Boys U14 Cup

St. Brendan’s  52 Rathmore 51

St. Brendan’s overcame Rathmore in a thrilling encounter in Rathmore on Sunday in the first round of the cup. This was a cracker of a game that produced a very high standard of basketball and had both sets of supporters on the edge of their seats.

Brendan’s were first to settle with tight defence, good rebounds and pin-point passing resulting in scores coming from Kieran, Shane K, Adam and Steven. Brendan’s were 15–6 up at the end of the first quarter. Rathmore’s Fionn Murphy was causing all sorts of problems in the 2nd quarter, contributing 8 of his sides 16 points. Aaron with a basket and David with 2 from 2 from the line left Brendan’s trailing by 3 with the halftime score 22-19 to the hosts.

The third quarter opened at blistering pace. Fionn Murphy’s influence on the Rathmore side was matched by the equally effective Kieran Arellano for St. Brendan’s. The visitors also saw Brian working hard under the boards and Olaf getting the better of his marker at point guard. A big 3 by Steven at the end of the quarter left Brendan’s trailing by a single point 34 -33.

It was all to play for in the final quarter. When Olaf landed his 3rd three pointer of the day Brendan’s looked like the side most likely to win but John Hughes and Murphy were just as accurate from the three point line and with no time left on the clock it was 46 points a piece. However Fionn Murphy was fouled in the act of shooting on the buzzer and went to the line. Luckily for Brendan’s the ball didn’t drop which meant there were 3 additional minutes to be played. In a thrilling finale 4 points from Kieran and 2 from Aaron were enough to cancel out the 5 from Rathmore and Brendan’s edged a much deserved win by the narrowest of margins on a final score of 52–51. Coach Tony Griffin was delighted with all his players with a superb team performance and a great game of basketball. Well done all.

Team: Conor Cronin, Shane Kelly, Shane Cotter, Aaron Nolan, David Scally, Olaf, Steven Brosnan, Brian O’Donnell, Kieran Arellano, Adam O’Carroll


LeeStrand Boys Academy Div 1

St. Paul’s 20 St Brendan’s GREEN 22

LeeStrand Boys U16 Div 2

TK Killarney Cougars 45 St. Brendan’s 66

LeeStrand Girls U14 Div 3 Pool 3

Tralee Imperials 32 St. Brendan’s 18

LeeStrand Boys U16 Div 3 Pool 2

Gneeveguilla 54 St. Brendan’s 39

LeeStrand Boys U14 Div 2 Pool 2

Gneeveguilla 40 St. Brendan’s 48

LeeStrand Boys U14 Div 1

Tralee Imperials 38 St. Brendan’s 63


Thursday 13th December

Boys U16 Div 2 Plate

TK Killarney Cougars v St. Brendan’s B at 8.00pm in Pres Gym, Killarney

Saturday 15th December

LeeStrand Academy Div 1 Girls

St. Brendan’s v Gneeveguilla at 6.00pm in Moyderwell

Sunday 16th December

LeeStrand Boys U16 Div 2

St. Brendan’s A v Tralee Tigers at 1.00pm in Moyderwell

St. Brendan’s B v Rathmore at 7.00pm in Moyderwell

LeeStrand Boys U14 Div 2 Pool 2

St. Brendan’s v Ballybunion Wildcats at 10.00am in Moyderwell

LeeStrand Boys U12 Div 1

Rathmore v St. Brendan’s at 1.00pm in Rathmore Sec School Gym

LeeStrand Girls U12 Div 3 Pool 1

St. Brendan’s v TK Killarney Cougars at TBC in Moyderwell School

Monday 17th December

LeeStrand Girls U12 Div 3 Pool1

St. Paul’s A v St. Brendan’s at 6.00pm in Killarney Sports & Leisure Centre

Tuesday 18th December

Boys U16 Div 2 Plate

St. Brendan’s v St. Joseph’s at 6.00pm in Moyderwell


Senior Women’s Div 2

St. Brendan’s 37 St. Mary’s 33

Senior Mens Div 1

St. Mary’s 32 St. Brendan’s 94


Sunday 16th December

LeeStrand U18 Div 1

Gneeveguilla v St. Brendan’s at 6.30pm in Rathmore Sec School Gym

Tuesday 18th December

Senior Mens Div 1

St. Brendan’s v Tralee Imperials at 7.00pm in Moyderwell


The Bruddy Burrows Memorial Cup winners for 2018 – St. Mary’s Castleisland


The Bruddy Burrows Memorial Cup runners up for 2018 – St. Brendan’s


St. Mary’s captain Shane Kelliher accepts the Bruddy Burrows Memorial Cup from Seanie Burrows and Pa Carey


St. Mary’s Killian Dennehy accepts the Bruddy Burrows Memorial Tournament MVP Award from Seanie Burrows and Pa Carey


St. Paul’s Killarney winners of the Bruddy Burrows Memorial Shield Final


St. Brendan’s runners up in the Bruddy Burrows Memorial Shield Final

St.Pauls’s captain Joshua Switzer with Seanie Burrows and Pa Carey

Comments are closed.