Ted Moynihan Named Kerry Person Of The Year

Posted by


Ted Moynihan at the turning of the sod on the new palliative care unit back in November 2015.

TED Moynihan been named Kerry Person of the Year by the Kerry Association in Dublin tonight.

The Kerry Hospice Foundation chairman Ted Moynihan will be presented with the award at a gala ceremony at the Association’s annual Oiche Chiarrai which will be held at the  Ballsbridge Hotel in Dublin on Saturday, March 4.

Mr. Ted Moynihan is a tireless fundraiser and campaigner on behalf of the Kerry Hospice Foundation which funds a wide range of palliative care services to patients in Kerry, dealing with serious illness.

Continued below…


The announcements were made at a reception in Iveagh House, Department of Foreign Affairs, St. Stephen’s Green, on Thursday by Leesha Duffy, Cathaoirleach of the Kerry Association in Dublin.

Many well-known personalities were among the 100 or so who attended the function. The Kerry Person of the Year Award, now in its 38th year, is being presented to people who are making a significant contribution to their locality and Kerry as a whole, or whose achievements have reflected credit on the county.

Mr. Moynihan, a native of Blennerville, was instrumental in organising the first ever fund-raiser for the Kerry Hospice with a 150 mile walk along the Kerry way on the Iveragh Peninsula in 1990.

Through Mr. Moynihan’s fund raising efforts, a Palliative Care Facility was opened in 2007 and recently in 2016, the sod has been turned on a new palliative care in-patient unit in the Day Care Centre in Tralee which will consist of 15 beds, costing €6.2 million.

During her tribute to Ted Moynihan, the Cathaoirleach said “this award is presented in recognition of the contribution he has made to the Kerry Hospice Foundation over the past 26 years. In the Immortal words of the late President Kennedy “Ask not what your country can do for you, rather what you can do for your country””.

Previous recipients of the Kerry Person of the Year Award

2016 – Brian McCarthy

2015 – Danny Tim O’Sullivan

2014 – Archdeacon Michael Murphy

2013 – Luke Moriarty

2012 – Jimmy Deenihan
2011 – Crohan O’Shea
2010 – Dáithí Ó Sé
2009 – Margaret Culloty
2008 – Sean Kelly
2007 – Tadhg O’Donoghue
2006 – Jeremiah O’Donoghue
2005 – Jack O’Connor
2004 – Denis Geaney
2003 – Mick Galwey
2002 – Brian O’Mahony
2001 – Páidí Ó Sé
2000 – Dick Spring
1998 – Mick O’Connell
1997 – Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh
1996 – Sr. Consilio
1995 – Ned O’Shea
1994 – Paddy Culligan
1993 – John Curran
1992 – Fr. Pat Ahern
1991 – Brendan Kennelly
1990 – Dr. Paddy Moriarty (RIP)
1989 – John B. Keane (RIP)
1988 – Dr. Denis Brosnan
1987 – Dr. Bryan McMahon (RIP)
1986 – Mick O’Dwyer
1985 – Con Houlihan
1984 – Pat Spillane
1983 – Eamonn Kelly (RIP)
1982 – Pat O’Connell
1981 – Pat Roche (RIP)
1980 – Sr. Stanislaus Kennedy
1979 – Dr. Michael Carmody

Comments are closed.