The Tallies Are In And It Looks Good For Foley And Ferris

Posted by


Sitting councillors Toireasa Ferris and Norma Foley are certain to be elected judging by tallies.

THE tallies are in from the ballot boxes in the Tralee Local Electoral Area and it gives us an idea of who will fill some of the seven seats in the Tralee Municipal District of Kerry County Council.

Although it’s only tallies and the count proper is yet to take place in the John Mitchels Complex at Ballyseedy later, it’s certain that Fianna Fáil Cllr Norma Foley, Sinn Féin Cllr Toireasa Ferris and Cllr Terry O’Brien (Labour) will retain their seats.

Cllr Jim Finucane (Fine Gael) and Cllr Pa Daly (Sinn Féin) are also in a strong position to stay in the Chamber, with newcomer Mikey Sheehy of Fianna Fáil also showing well.

Sinn Fein’s three candidate strategy might still pay off with Cathal Foley depending on transfers. The final seat will probably come down to a battle between Foley, Sam Locke (currently in seventh place), Anne Marie Fuller of the Green Party, Bridget O’Brien of Fine Gael.

It’ll be interesting to see how the votes transfer later at the count. Here’s what the final tally looks like.

Norma Foley (FF) 2,098

Toireasa Ferris (SF) 1,541

Terry O’Brien (Lab) 1,446

Jim Finucane (FG) 1,191

Mikey Sheehy (FF) 1,172

Pa Daly (SF) 1,112

Sam Locke (Ind) 812

Anne Marie Fuller (Green) 678

Bridget O’Brien (FG) 631

Cathal Foley (SF) 648

Ben Slimm (Lab) 416

Johnnie Wall (FF) 413

Mary Fitzgibbon (Aontu) 321

Ted Cronin (Ind) 192

Bec Fahy (PBP) 173

Yvonne Dineen (Ind) 78

Denis O’Reilly (Ind) 29

Comments are closed.