PHOTOS: Tralee Secondary School Students Win At Cross Country Event

Posted by
Kerry ETB new insert


Schools ath 0072

Mark Ryall presents the Shield for Best Boys School to Shane Lowth, Athletics Captain of Tralee CBS team, with Damien McLoughlin (Kerry Colleges Athletics Board/Tralee CBS) and Helen Kelleher (Tralee CBS.) Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

TRALEE athletes excelled at the Kerry Schools Cross Country Championships on Wednesday at The Demesne, Killarney.

Tralee CBS beat competition from around the county to win the ‘Best School Award’ for boys, with Mercy Mounthawk coming in second place and Presentation Milltown 3rd.

Presentation Killarney won ‘Best Girls School’ with Mercy Mounthawk once again finishing second, joint 3rd were Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine Kenmare and Presentation Milltown.

For The Green, Mohammad Raheem was a very impressive winner of the Minor race, leading his team to 1st place.

Fergal O’Brien of CBS was an easy winner of the Junior race, with his team coming 2nd. Daire Keane ran a great race to finish 2nd in the Intermediate race, with the two Tralee CBS teams dominating to finish 1st and 2nd.

Shane Lowth was a good 2nd in the Senior race, leading the two teams to 1st and 3rd place. These teams now go on to compete at the North-Munster Championships in Limerick.

For Mercy Mounthawk, Cillian Tierney, won the senior category. Also picking up a top award was Eimear O’Sullivan, from Presentation who won the minor girls award.

For full results, scroll down past the photos below…

IT Tralee TraleeToday-600x400-Ads-Perks-HR-9


Athletes who took part in the Kerry Schools Cross Country Championships.

The first three home in Minor Boys 2000m – Mohammad Raheem, Tralee CBS; Jamie O’Brien, Mercy Mounthawk; Aodan O’Dubhain, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne. Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

The CBS The Green team that took part in Kerry Schools Cross Country Championships.

The CBS The Green team that took part in Kerry Schools Cross Country Championships. Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

Schools ath 9979

Mercy Mounthawk athletes (centre) at the start of the Junior Girls 2000m. Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

Schools ath 0064

Senior Boys 5000m winners – Cillian Tierney, Mercy Mounthawk; Shane Lowth, Tralee CBS; Gary Nolan, Tralee CBS. Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

Schools ath 0057

Fiona Kavanagh, Mercy Mounthawk, winner of Senior Girls 3000m, with her mother, Niamh O’Sullivan (Riocht AC/cross country athlete.) Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

Schools ath 9962

Minor Girls 1500m Eimear O’Sullivan, Pres. Tralee; Kate Murphy, Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine Kenmare; Erin O’Halloran, Mercy Mounthawk. Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

Schools ath 9999

Eventual winner, Fergal O’Brien of Tralee CBS, leads the field in the Junior Boys 3000m. Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

Schools ath 9966

A large group set off in the Minor Boys 2000m. Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

Kerry Schools Cross Country Championships 2016

The Demesne, Killarney

Wednesday 20th January, 2016


Minor Girls 1500m

  • Eimear O’Sullivan Presentation Tralee
  • Kate Murphy Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine, Kenmare
  • Erin O’Halloran Mercy Mounthawk
  • Grace Starrett Mercy Mounthawk
  • Jane Doyle Mercy Mounthawk
  • Marie Courtney Presentation Killarney

Team Result 

  • Mercy Mounthawk 28 pts.
  • Pres. Killarney 35 pts.
  • Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine 56 pts.

Junior Girls 2000m

  • Rhona Randles Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine Kenmare
  • Anna Clifford Presentation Killarney
  • Alyce O’Connor Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine Kenmare
  • Mary O’Connell Presentation Tralee
  • Niamh Coffey Presentation Killarney
  • Katie Palmer Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine Kenmare

Team Result

  • Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine Kenmare 19 pts.
  • Presentation Killarney 30 pts.
  • Mercy Mounthawk 58 pts.

Intermediate Girls 3000m

  • Shona O’Brien Presentation Milltown
  • Emily Pierse Colaiste Ide & Iosaef, Abbeyfeale
  • Sasha Brent Tarbert Comprehensive
  • Ciara Murphy Presentation Milltown
  • Niamh Ni Chonchuir Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne
  • Kate Murphy Presentation Killarney

Team Result

  • Presentation Milltown 32 pts.
  • Presentation Killarney 58 pts.
  • Mercy Mounthawk 75 pts.

Senior Girls 3000m

  • Fiona Kavanagh Mercy Mounthawk
  • Eilish O’Leary Presentation Killarney
  • Elizabeth Mohan Presentation Killarney
  • Roisin Whelan Presentation Milltown
  • Siobhan Burns Presentation Killarney
  • Dearbhail Ryan Mercy Mounthawk

Team Result

  • Presentation Killarney 19 pts.
  • Mercy Mounthawk 22 pts.
  • Presentation Milltown 41 pts.

Best Girls School

  • Presentation Killarney 9 pts.
  • Mercy Mounthawk 7 pts.
  • Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine &

Presentation Milltown 4 pts.

Minor Boys 2000m

  • Mohammad Raheem Tralee CBS
  • Jamie O’Brien Mercy Mounthawk
  • Aodan O’Dubhain Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne
  • Niall Cassidy Mercy Mounthawk
  • Terence Carmody Tralee CBS
  • Caoimhin Finn Tralee CBS

Team Result

  • Tralee CBS 21 pts.
  • Mercy Mounthawk 49 pts.
  • Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne 61 pts.

Junior Boys 3000m

  • Fergal O’Brien Tralee CBS
  • Gary Murphy Presentation Milltown
  • Naoise Buckley Presentation Milltown
  • Darragh O’Leary St. Brendans Killarney
  • Diarmuid Kelliher Presentation Milltown
  • Colin Crowley Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine Kenmare

Team Result

  • Presentation Milltown 19 pts.
  • Tralee CBS 33 pts.
  • Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine68 pts.

Intermediate Boys 4000m

  • Cillian Kerins Presentation Milltown
  • Daire Keane Tralee CBS
  • Michael Kelliher Tralee CBS
  • John Walsh Tralee CBS
  • Eoin Cahill Tralee CBS
  • Diarmuid O’Connor Mercy Mounthawk

Team Result

  • Tralee CBS ‘A’ 14 pts.
  • Tralee CBS ‘B’ 41 pts.
  • Colaiste Ide & Iosaef, Abbeyfeale 62 pts.

Senior Boys 5000m

  • Cillian Tierney Mercy Mounthawk
  • Shane Lowth Tralee CBS
  • Gary Nolan Tralee CBS
  • Louis Ryle Mercy Mounthawk
  • Sean Collins Mercy Mounthawk
  • Michael Foley Tarbert Comprehensive

Team Result

  • Tralee CBS ‘A’ 22 pts.
  • Mercy Mounthawk 23 pts.
  • Tralee CBS ‘B’ 54 pts.

Best Boys School

  • Tralee CBS 14 pts.
  • Mercy Mounthawk   4 pts.
  • Presentation Milltown   3 pts.

Comments are closed.