IT Tralee Students Cook For Top Chefs At Awards

Posted by


Students — including four from IT Tralee, Keith Neary, Padraig Moriarty, Maryann Shanahan and Christopher Barry — who cooked the dinner at the Yes Chef Awards in the Strand Hotel. Photo: Liam Burke Press 22.

CHEFS from Institute of Technology Tralee cooked for Ireland’s finest purveyors of culinary hospitality at the YesChef awards in The Limerick Strand recently and some former students were part of the team which won awards.

With a full house of 450 guests, the evening was a celebration of the hospitality industry in Ireland, with a focus on recognising those in the front line of an ever changing and challenging culinary landscape.

Continued below…


The students of The Institute of Technology Tralee with their Chef Mentor Dan Browne presented the starter which was Cordal Goats Cheese custard, smoked butternut croquette, compressed Apple, Balsamic Gel, herb oil & Hazlenut Tuille.

The four ITT students involved were Keith Neary, Padraig Moriarty, Maryann Shanahan and Christopher Barry.

Dan Browne said the central idea around which the dish was created was the use of a local product which was Cordal Goats Cheese, this is being produced in the Kerry Food hub in Firies by Shane O’Leary and is widely in Supervalu stores across Kerry and beyond.

This year there were 68 awards recognising and honouring chefs, hoteliers, restaurateurs and front of house teams. The Institute of Technology Tralee was so proud to have many graduates from various programmes amongst the winners as can be seen below…

Young Chef of the Year 2018

Winner : Clodagh Teahan (Graduate ITT)

Higher Certificate in Culinary Arts

Panorama Restaurant, Hotel Europe

Mentor: Simon Regan (Graduate ITT)

Masters in Culinary Arts

World Food Restaurant of the Year 2018

Winner: Sol y Sombra, Killorglin

Manager Alberto Mendoza (Graduate ITT)

Diploma in Restaurant Management

Newcomer of the Year 2018

Munster Winner: Croi Restaurant, Tralee

Chef Paul Cotter (Graduate of IT Tralee)

Casual Dining Restaurant of the Year 2018

Munster Winner: The Smuggler’s Inn, Waterville

Golf Club Restaurant of the Year 2018

Munster Winner: Dingle Links Clubhouse, Dingle

Comments are closed.