Four Tralee Women Named In Ireland Six Nations Squad

Posted by
Credit Union motor


Ireland Women's captain Niamh Briggs with fellow skippers Sara Barattin, Rachel Taylor, Sarah Hunter, Gaelle Mignot and Lisa Martin

Ireland Women’s captain Niamh Briggs with fellow international skippers Sara Barattin, Rachel Taylor, Sarah Hunter, Gaelle Mignot and Lisa Martin.

FOUR Trelee women have been picked in the Ireland 6 Nations squad it was announced this afternoon.

Tralee RFC’s Zoe Grattage, Ciara Griffin and Ciara O’Connor and Ruth O’Reilly, who plays her rugby with Galwegians, were named in the squad of 30 that will defend Ireland Six Nations crown.

The Tralee RFC trio have yet to gain a full international cap.

Continued below…

Kerry ETB new insert


Ruth O’Reilly who plays for Galwegians and Connacht, but is from Ballyroe, played a part in Ireland Six Nations championship win last year.

All four have been named in the forwards.

The Ireland Women’s squad, will play their home matches at Donnybrook this season.

They will open their campaign at the Dublin 4 venue when they face Wales on Saturday, February 6.

The side will also take part in a double header in Twickenham when they play England directly after their male counterparts on Saturday, February 27.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Squad (2016 Women’s RBS 6 Nations):

Backs (12) –

Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
Liz Burke (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Ulster)
Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht)
Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara/Leinster)
Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Claire McLaughlin (Queen’s University/Ulster) *
Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)
Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht)
Elise O’Byrne White (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile)
Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Forwards (18) –

Elaine Anthony (Highfield/Munster)
Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)
Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Grainne Egan (St. Mary’s/Connacht) *
Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse)

Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
Zoe Grattage (Tralee/Munster) *
Ciara Griffin (Tralee/Munster) *
Claire Molloy (Bristol)
Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster)
Heather O’Brien (Toulouse)
Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Ciara O’Connor (Tralee/Connacht) *
Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

* Denotes uncapped player

Comments are closed.