Austin Stacks GAA Club News

Posted by

CAKE SALE:  Reminder the annual  Austin  Stacks club ‘Bring & Buy’ cake sale takes place this Sunday Oct 13th  in Connolly Park from 11am to 12pm.  The sale will of course coincide with the annual visit of Killarney Legion boys & girls (U6, 8s & 10s) to Connolly Park for some challenge matches.  So please everybody do come down to Connolly Park this Sunday to support us, treat yourself to something nice while watching our youngest club Stars in action.  Teas & Coffee’s served.

THE C TEAM: Austin Stacks 1-10; Annascaul 0-11.
Some people often wondered what David Courtney and James Milner had in common. Well now we know. Both were match-winners in their respective games at the week-end – David in Caherslee on Friday evening (see below) and James, some 20 hours later, scoring from that winning penalty in Anfield.

Elma Nix’s text to Club Members shortly after the C team game finished told it in a nutshell – great drama as 62nd minute winning goal clinches the title for Stacks. And this was the Club’s 8th Barrett Cup title (the 1st in 1986 and the last in 2011 and in between we won titles in 1997 and four in a row between 2002 and 2005).

Having met twice already this season this final, played in ideal weather conditions under lights in Caherslee on this Friday evening (4th Oct) got off to a cautious start and after the first nine minutes both sides had scored three points each, all six scores coming from frees, with Darragh Long converting all our three.

We then totally dominated the remainder of the half, putting over five without reply – three from play by Danny Roche, Mikey Collins and Darragh Long and the remaining two from two more Darragh Long frees. The final score of the half came from an Annascaul free which left us with a double score lead at the break (0-8 to 0-4).

Annascaul came out for the second half a different team and were in total control during the second half ,   drawing level after 17 minutes. Our first score of this half came from another Darragh Long free in the 53rd minute.

Then Annascaul went back in the lead when they put over two more points in as many minutes, and that was still the position as the game went into added time when both sides had added a point each – ours coming from another Darragh Long free to bring his total for the evening to eight.

Then in the 62nd minute came that winning goal when TJ Hogan’s perfect high ball into the square was tapped down by Ger Teahon into the path of none other than David Courtney who will never miss from a situation like this. And how appropriate that it was David. Forty eight players lined out in the C Team’s 12 games this season and David was the only player who lined out in all 12 games.

As well he was the team’s chief scorer with 10 goals and 34 points, followed by Danny Roche with a score of 5-34. And back in 2011 when we won the last Barrett Cup Final it was David who received the Man of the Match Award in that replayed final against Waterville.

Team: Paddy Fitzgibbon, Tommy Costello, TJ Hogan, James Quigley, Michael Godley, Barry Walsh, Brian Phelan, Jason Mitchel, William Kirby, Danny Roche (0-1), Michael Collins (0-1), Conor Lowe, David Courtney (1-0), David Leonard, Darragh Long (0-8 – seven frees).
Subs used: Craig Teahan (ht), Ger Teahon (39m), Seán Dukes (45m), Denis McElligott (49m), Joe Looby (57m).

So what a season it has been for the C Team who were out of action since 2012. It stated with a text from Daniel Bohan three days into 2019 looking for a list of players that might be interested in forming a panel.

Aidan O’Connor then agreed to manage the team and what a management team he gathered around him, which included his son Tommy (who was a member of the winning four-in-a-row side – 2002-2005), John Joe Sugrue, Ciarán McCabe, Ger Mannix, John Tobin, Ricky Moloney and the afore-mentioned Daniel Bohan.

Christy Killen, on behalf of the Co. Board, invited our own Eddie Barrett to present the Barrett Cup (donated by Eddie and his family in 1986 to commemorate his father Tommy, a former Club and Kerry Footballer) to team captain Barry Walsh, who in his winning speech did not forget to mention the late Charlie Healy who was at Aidan’s side when we won those four-in-a-row titles during 2002-2005 as well that earlier title in 1997.

And Kevin O’Carroll was not forgotten as the man who managed our most recent victory back in 2011.

CLUBHOUSE: As always the Clubhouse is available for all types of Parties and Functions. Enquiries about Club Bookings should be made by contacting Harry Hynes at 087 2467286.

CARDS: The 45 Card Sessions continue in the Clubhouse on every Monday and Thursday nights, commencing at 9.30pm each night.

LOTTO: Last Night’s (7th October) Jackpot, worth €12,250, was not won. The numbers drawn were 7, 8, 23, 28.
The €20 winners were: Kathleen O’Shea, c/o Carmel O’Neill; Joe McElligott, Margaret Christie and Phil Quirke all c/o Rock Street Post Office; and Aidan O’Connor, c/o Club Rockies.
Lotto Tickets are on regular sale at the Rock Street Post Office and at the Stacks Clubhouse, as well as from our other regular outlets.

SYMPATHY:  Sincere sympathy is offered to the families of the following who died recently – Kathleen Twamley (nee Kelliher), Reanagowan and formerly Tralee; Tommy Leahy, Camp, Ballyseedy; Chrissie Byrne (nee O’Callaghan), Connolly Park and formerly Casement’s Avenue; and Billy O’Lehan, Woodlee, Monavally (father of former Club Footballers Raymond, Billy, Kenneth and the late David).

Comments are closed.