Austin Stacks GAA Club News

Posted by


NOVEMBER MASS OF REMEMBRANCE: The annual November Mass for the deceased members & friends of the Austin Stacks GAA Club will take place on Sunday next (22nd Nov) at 10am.  The Mass will be live streamed on or available to listen to live on

ONLINE CLUB SHOP OPEN – check out the newest ‘official’ Austin Stacks Club Merchandise – only available to order on this link (free delivery on any orders over €50) see

NOVEMBER: Last week we gave mention to three Club anniversaries that occurred around this time.- all three taking place on 16th November – in 1975 our Seniors Co. Championship win; in 2003 our C Team’s Co. Championship (Barrett Cup) win; and in 2014 our Senior Munster Championship semi final win against Ballincollig.

Our 1975 Co. Championship win came after a replay and also after we won our third Co. League title in a row. In the Championship we had good wins against Spa/Killarney in the quarter final (3-12 to 1-10) and against Na hAghasaigh in the semi final (1-19 to 0-6).

We were up against a very good Mid Kerry side in the final which ended in a draw (2-7 each) after a ding-dong struggle with Mikey Sheehy contributing 2-4 to our tally.

The replay, like the drawn game was played in Fitzgerald Stadium and after a hard-fought encounter we came out on top with three points to spare (1-7 to 1-4). It was a fitting end to the playing career of team captain, Joe Joe Barrett, who hung up his boots at the end of that game after making his Senior Championship debut at the start of the 1959 season – a glorious career with the Rock Senior team spanning 17 seasons.

Team in the replay: Teddy Brick, Garry Scollard, John O’Keeffe, Paul Lucey, Fintan Lawlor, Tony O’Keeffe, Ger O’Keeffe, Denny Long (0-1), Timmy Sheehan, Ger Power (1-1), Mikey Sheehy (0-1), Jackie Power (0-1), Colm Mangan, Joe Joe Barrett (Capt) (0-1), Tommy Kennington (0-2).
Rest of Panel: Paddy Whack Moriarty, Tommy Bracker O’Regan, Noel Kelter, Fergus Dillon, Billy Curtin, Aidan O’Connor, Paudie McKenna, Terry McSweeney, Rory McSweeney.

Then in 2003 our C Team won their Co. Championship crown. After wins in 1986, 1997 and 2001 this was our 4th Barrett Cup win. In the final played in Cordal we had a five points winning margin against Laune Rangers (2-6 to 0-7). On our path to the final we had wins against Moyvane (4-15 to 0-6) and St. Pats (2-16 to 0-7) before coming up against a strong Beaufort side in the semi final.

The sides had to meet three times before we eventually won the second replay, after extra-time, by the narrowest of margins (2-15 to 2-14).

Team in the Final: Darren Carey, Danny Carroll, Gordon Kerins, Alan Tobin, Kenneth Leahy,  Padraig McCannon, Liam Walsh, Garrett Clifford, Billy Curtin, David Conway, Michael Hogan, Joey O’Connor, Peter Williams, Gearóid McCann, Anthony Moriarty.

Rest of the Panel (in alphabetical order): Anthony Morrisson, Barry Leahy, Eoin Colgan, Eoin Rae, Fionán Carroll, John Murphy, John Slattery, Kevin Barry, Mark O’Connor, Micko Horan, Seamus Smith, Tim O’Rourke.

And finally in 2014 our Seniors were again victorious when they defeated Ballincollig in the Munster Club Championship semi final. The game, in Austin Stack Park, went to extra time with the sides level after 60 minutes (0-10 to 1-7).

We went on to add five more points in added time to just two for the Cork boys to leave us with a three points winning margin at the end (0-15 to 1-9).

Team: Darragh O’Brien, Conor Jordan, Ronan Shanahan, Barry Shanahan (Capt), Pa McCarthy (0-2), Fearghal MacNamara, Denis McElligott (0-1),Wayne Guthrie, Greg Horan (0-2), Mikey Collins, Shane Carroll (0-3 frees), Daniel Bohan, David Mannix (0-3), Kieran Donaghy (0-1), Shane O’Callaghan (0-1).
Subs used: Fiachna Mangan, John Dennis, Darragh Long (0-2 – one free), Ciarán O’Connell, William Kirby.

BEST WISHES: to Ballybeggan’s Tommy O’Connor who we hear is retiring as a greyhound trainer/owner. Kerry O’Shea reminds us that Tommy won the very first Austin Stacks 550 Race away back in 1978 with a dog named Lenas Honour.

CLUBHOUSE: Our Bar and Clubhouse are now on lockdown again until further notice.

LOTTO RESULTS: This Monday Night’s (16th Nov) Jackpot, worth €13,400, was not won. The numbers drawn were 6, 15, 18, 26.
The €20 winners were: John Slattery, Elma Nix, Michael McCannon, Peggy King and Carmel O’Neill, all c/o The Club.
Continued thanks to the following businesses for selling our Club Lotto tickets – Kevin Barry’s Shop, Commane’s Book Shop, O’Flynn Interiors, Hussey’s, Princess St., Terry’s Butcher’s, Oakpark and The Burger Shack, Monavally.
Austin Stacks lotto tickets are now also available to purchase on line on the following link: Kirby’s Brogue Inn Maguire’s Butchers Hussey’s P. Commane Books.

SYMPATHY:  Sincere sympathy is offered to the families of the following who died recently: Betty Foley (nee Browne), St. Brendan’s Park (wife of former Club Hurler, Dominick); Louise Ryan (nee Hussey), Carrigeendaniel and formerly Killarney; Thomas A. (Tom) Twomey, Cloghar lí, Ballyard and formerly Dundrum (Dublin); Rita Morrissey (nee Dwyer), Spa Road; Evelyn O’Regan (nee Horgan), Ardshanvooley, Killarney (wife of former Club Footballer, Tommy Bracker); Joan (Joanie) Barry (nee Hobbert), St. Joseph’s Estate (sister of the late Clubman, James Hobbert) and Thomas Joseph Spillane, Springwell Gardens and formerly Annagh.

Comments are closed.