Austin Stacks GAA Club News

Posted by


Kieran Donaghy and Wayne Quillinan with the fans after the game on Sunday. Photo by Dermot Crean


Austin Stacks 0-13

Kerins O’Rahillys 0-10

After a lapse of seven years we are Co. Champions again for the 13th time in our history with a measured if hard-fought victory over our neighbours O’Rahillys – the fifth time the two sides have met in a final and the first since 1936.

We got off the mark immediately from the throw-in with Michael O’Gara pointing after 33 seconds.

Rahillys first score came from a free two minutes later and the sides were still level on three points each half way through the half with Darragh O’Brien putting over from a free after a foul on Joseph O’Connor and Joseph involved again in the 10thminute when he put Fiachna Mangan through for a point from play.

We then totally dominated the remainder of the half scoring a further five points to just one for the opposition.

Darragh O’Brien was unerring with three pointed frees, Kieran Donaghy put over from a mark and the 5th point was our only one from play, put over brilliantly by Brendan O’Sullivan. This left us with a double score lead at half time (0-8 to 0-4).

We dominated the third quarter also adding four more points to two for Strand Road which left us six points clear at that stage (0-12 to 0-6).

Second half substitute Seán Quilter, as he usually does, added two from a mark and a free, Darragh O’Brien also put over from a free and a Joseph O’Connor beauty from play was our fourth.

Rahillys came really into the game during the final quarter scoring four points during this period while holding us to just one – from another Darragh O’Brien free.

But a very solid defensive display by our lads, with keeper Wayne Guthrie in particular thwarting many Rahilly attacks saw us through for a well-deserved victory.

Dylan Casey became the 10th Captain in the Club’s history, and by far the youngest at 21 years of age, to lift the Co. Championship trophy. The win brings us back on level terms with Dr. Crokes with both sides now heading the Roll of Honours with 13 titles each.

Team; Wayne Guthrie, Colin Griffin, Dylan Casey (Capt), Jack O’Shea, Paul O’Sullivan, Conor Jordan, Barry Shanahan, Joseph O’Connor (0-1), Greg Horan, Michael O’Gara (0-1), Fiachna Mangan (0-1), Brendan O’Sullivan (0-1), Shane O’Callaghan, Kieran Donaghy (0-1 mark), Darragh O’Brien (0-6 frees).

Subs used: Sean Quilter (41m) (0-2 frees), Jack Morgan (45m), Michael O’Donnell (47m), Adam Curran (53m), Armin Heinrich (63m).

The win puts us through to the Munster Club semi final against the Limerick Champions, Newcastle West on the weekend after next (18th/19th Dec) with Ennis Éire Óg and St. Finbarrs in the other semi final. Winning the toss of a coin we have home venue. Details not finalised as we write.

Also not finalised is the situation as to the quarter of the Brendans Board/Tralee Town Championship. This has been penciled in for this coming Sunday (12th Dec) with a home game for us against Churchill. Check Club website for further confirmation.

Stacks fans on Ashe Street after the game. Photo by Dermot Crean

SUPPORTERS CLUB: Spearheaded by Kevin O’Carroll and his colleagues let us again thank our brilliant supporters who, on the day, will always be worth an addition few points to get us over the line in situations like Sunday. Well done again folks on a super outing.

Kevin himself would like to thank Seán and John Collins for their marvelous work with the flags and bunting everywhere – to Ger and Colin Teahon who, at the 11th hour, came to our rescue with an additional supply of flags and bunting.

Kevin would personally like to thank John Collie and Francie Breen for helping him organize our wonderful and hugely successful march.

And our fab drummers led by Amy Quirke, Caitriona Collins and Kerina O’Carroll (who came home specially from Lanzarote for the event) and to everyone else who helped and took part. And as Kevin said the best things in life are worth waiting for.

FITNESS CLASSES: The Individual Pod Fitness Training sessions continues in the Clubhouse every Tuesday and Thursday evenings  from 7pm to 8pm. All are welcome. Contact Diane at 087 7940531 for further information.

DECEMBER IN THE PAST (08/12 to 14/12). On the field of play our SF team won their 1st Munster Club. Championship Final with a victory over St. Finbarrs (1-7 to 0-8) on 12th Dec 1976 in Austin Stacks Park.

Team: Teddy Brick, Garry Scollard, Noel Power, Ger O’Keeffe, Fintan Lawlor, Tony O’Keeffe, Ger Power (0-1), Denny Long, Timmy Sheehan, Paddy Whack Moriarty, John O’Keeffe (0-1), Mikey Sheehy (1-4), Jackie Power, Billy Curtin, Paudie McCarthy (0-1).  Sub: John L. McElligott.

Off the field on 13th Dec 1992 Eddie Barrett was elected Club Chairman in succession to Mickey Hickey and on the same date in 2002 there was the official launch of the Club’s new Video – The Street of Champions – by the one and only Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh.

ONLINE CLUB SHOP: A reminder that our Club shop is open 24/7. Check out the newest ‘official’ Austin Stacks Club Merchandise – only available to order on this link (free delivery on any orders over €50) see We would also like to introduce the new Austin Stacks Ganzee Club Clothing Collection, available in Mens/Unisex, Womens & kids check out all the style ranges in hoodies, t-shirts and sweatshirts on

CARDS: Our Cards are continuing, until we are informed otherwise, with our usual twice weekly sessions (Mondays and Thursdays) commencing at 9pm sharp on both nights. It’s important to be there on time as you run the risk of not being accommodated if the game has already started and your addition would up-scuttle the already smooth running of the particularsession.

CLUB LOTTO: Due to the continuing celebrations this week’s Lotto did not take place as usual on Monday night. Check our Club Website for details.

SYMPATHY: Sincere sympathy is offered to the families of the following who died recently: Anne Kelly (nee O’Sullivan), Connolly Park and formerly Ardea, Tuosist; Marie Murphy (nee Quinlan), Caherslee and formerly Cahill’s Park; David Nolan, Lismore; Dominick McSweeney, Kevin Barry’s Villas; John (Seán) Walsh, Spa Road and formerly Castlebar; Con Gill, Listellick North and Alzbeta Zupkova, Muing and formerly The Czech Republic.

Comments are closed.