Austin Stacks GAA Juvenile Club News

Posted by


NOLLAIG SHONA: We wish everybody in The Rock…players, workers and their families…a peaceful Christmas.

AGM: The juvenile section of the club will hold the Annual General Meeting at 7pm on January 7th(Sunday) 2024. Everybody welcome.

LIKE TO BE A ROCK MENTOR? If you’d like to discuss being an Austin Stack Club helper/mentor/administrator/coach….please contact Tim McMahon on 083 1190323. Our club coaching committee invite newcomers to join The Rock!

SCÓR: (i) John Chambers, a true champion of Scór in The Rock Club, has gone to his eternal reward. John, on coming to Tralee and due to the encouragement of the late James Hobbert who worked with him in The Kingdom Tubes, Rock Street, began coaching figure dancers and set dancers to represent our club in Scór in the late 1970s.

With great commitment and selfless dedication, he produced several outstanding dancing groups over the years. His successes include almost a dozen Kerry Scór titles (Scór na Sinsear agus Scór na nÓg) in figure and set dancing. He also led a Rock Club dancing group to an All-Ireland title at ‘An tOireachtas.’

Two of his daughters, Liz and Tara, danced for the club in Scór. Details of his dancers’ successes, as well as a picture of John with some of his dancers, may be seen on page 176 of ‘A Centenary History 1917—2017.’ Our sympathies to his wife, Dolly, and to his family. Leaba i measc na Naomh is na nAingeal go raibh aige.

(ii) Have we any Rock primary school pupils who would like to enter Scór na bPáistí. What can one do? Competitions: a quiz team of four, solo singing, ballad group, recitation/scéalaíocht, music group, figure/set dancing.

The Tralee District finals will take place in February. The county final will take place on March 23rd 2024. Now is the time to prepare for Primary School Scór (Scór na bPáistí ’24). Give Carmel Quilter-O’Neill a shout if interested.

THE GREEN – College Football: (i) (a) Great news! Mór-chomhghairdeachas le peileadóirí Faoi 17 na Faiche! The Green boys had a fine victory over Intermediate School Killorglin in the final of the Dunloe Cup competition. The Tralee lads played well in the first half and were in the lead at half-time….1-6 to 0-6.

They changed up a gear or two in the second half and, excelling in determination, in skill and in combination play (comhimirt), demonstrated their superiority. The game finished on a final score of 3-16 to 1-8.

The Dunloe Cup rests on The Green ‘sideboard’! The Rockmen on the panel: Olivier Lata (cúl báire), Fionnán Ryan (leathchúlaí láir), Ronan Carroll (lántosach), Aodhán Horgan (fear ionaid) and Ryan O’Driscoll (gortaithe). Imríodh an cluiche ceannais ag Club na gCrócach, Bóthar Lobhaois, Cill Airne.

(b) These footballers are now looking forward to playing in the Frewen Cup competition (Munster Schools U17) in 2024.

(ii) The Green CBS U19As were successful v Bandon High School in their recent Corn Uí Mhuirí competition (Group 4) encounter. We wish them well as they prepare for a quarter final game in January. The Rockmen on the panel: Thomas Deregee, Fionnán Ryan, Ronan Carroll, Olivier Lata, Aodhán Horgan, Ryan O’Driscoll, Seán Óg Ó Brosnacháin.

MOUNTHAWK – College Football: ‘Well done’ to the Mercy Mounthawk footballers who challenged and defeated their old rivals, Coláiste Bréanainn Chill Airne, in the final of the Kerry Colleges senior football competition in Austin Stack Park.

With Rockmen in almost every line of the team they won a first Corn Uí Shúilleabháin competition for their school.

Their winning margin was 0-6 and the scoreboard read 2-14 to 1-11. What a mighty effort/performance! Among the champions of Kerry are Rockmen Michael Tansley, James Fisher, Jack Murphy, Ben Murphy, Pádraig O’Halloran, Daniel Ó Ciarba, Paddy Lane and Noah Townsend. They’ll be striving for a first Corn Uí Mhuirí competition victory for Cnoc an tSeabhaic! (ii) The Mercy Mounthawk U17 lads were unlucky v St Michael’s College, Lios Tuathail, in their Dunloe Shield (Kerry Colleges) game. Lucht na Carraige ar an bpainéal: Ben Litchfield, Harry Murphy, Ben Murphy, Alex Touhy, Cormac Bastible, Eoin Murphy, Liam Sweeney-O’Connor, Jack Shanahan, Jack Diggin. These boys look forward to playing their Munster U17 games after Christmas.

AN GAELCHOLÁISTE: Tá sceitimíní ar dhaltaí an Ghaelcholáiste an tseachtain seo faoi chluiche leathcheannais iománaíochta na Mumhan.

This senior college Munster hurling semi-sinal (Corn Uí Chinnéide) v Coláiste Mhuire, Askeaton, has been scheduled for this Thursday ar an mBán Tír (Contae Chorcaí). Go n-éirí go geal leis an Máistir Ó Murchú, le Rory Ó Loinsigh, le Gavin Ó Cathasaigh, le Luke Ó Cathasaigh agus le gaiscígh eile an choláiste sa chluiche ríthábhachtach seo! GCC Abú! (D.Ó Loinsigh)

PEIL FAOI 13: The Rock panel of 2023: Albi Gaxha, Billy Kirby, Blake Bowler, Conor Hanafin, Conor Maguire, Conor Murphy, Danny Lane, Darragh Moriarty, David Ahern, Diarmuid Hennessy, Dylan McEvoy, Ediart Topali, Eliot Calleja, Ethan Cushen, Gearóid Corcoran, Gerard Teahon, Harry Maguire, Jayden O’Dowd, Jack Maguire, Joe O’Halloran, John Riordan, Karol Kowalczyk, Kian Cronin, Liam Swords, Luke Kavanagh, Mark Foley, Mark Riordan, Matthew Murphy, Michael Carmody, Noah Reidy, Oisín Horan, Oran O’Regan, Ryan O’Flaherty, Séamus Keenan, Shane Carey, Shea Horan, Tadhg Lucey, Tadhg O’Regan, Tom Dawson, Zac Moore.

PEIL FAOI 17: Laochra Faoi 17 na Carraige: Steven Conway, Olivier Lata, Ryan McMahon, James Fisher, Daniel Kirby, Rory Lynch, Paddy Lane, Adam Johnson, Seán Heaslip, Thomas Deregee, Ben Murphy, Jake O’Connor, Donnacha Horgan, Jack Barrett, Fionnán Ryan, Jack Diggin, Ryan O’Driscoll, David Lucid, Seán Óg Brosnan, Ciarán Kavanagh, Liam O’Connell, Tomás O’Connell, Pádraig O’Halloran, Alex Touhy, Ronan Carroll, Gavin Casey, Cormac Bastible, Barry Nagle.

CIARRAÍ: Good wishes to Joey Nagle and Armin Heinrich who may get a chance to wear the Green‘n’Gold.

CLUB LOTTO: Thanks to all supporters and sellers of our club lotto tickets and especially to (i) Paudie Commane’s Bookshop (PC Books), Rock Street, (ii) O’Flynn Interiors, Rock Street, (iii) Hussey’s Deli and Newsagency, Prince’s Quay, (iv) The Burger Shack, Monavalley, (v) Kirby’s Brogue Inn, Rock Street and (vi) Siopa Chaoimhín de Barra, An Charraig.

CLUB GEAR: For club gear go to

1973: Those who made history in 1973 by defeating Na Mistéalaigh, Na Crócaigh, Neidín and Na hÁghasaigh: Teddy Brick (RIP); Garry Scollard (RIP), Mike McCarthy, John Barry; Noel Kelter (RIP), Anthony O’Keeffe, Ger O’Keeffe; John O’Keeffe, Timmy Sheehan (RIP); Mikey Sheehy, Ger Power, Tommy Kennington; Billy Curtin (captaen), Joe Joe Barrett (RIP), Tommy ‘Bracker’ O’Regan; Fergus Dillon, Ger McNamara, Paudie McCarthy, Joe Joe Parker, Rory McSweeney (RIP), Tommy King, Fintan Lawlor, Terry McSweeney (RIP), Aidan O’Connor.

Bainisteoirí: Jackie Power (RIP)(trainer), Paddy Scanlon (RIP), Timmy McMahon (RIP), Jackie Parker (RIP), Tadhg McMahon (rúnaí).
Committee: Frank King (cathaoirleach)(RIP), Jimmy Barry (RIP), Johnny Reidy (RIP), Seán Murphy (RIP), Tadhg Crowley (cisteoir)(RIP). Eddie Barrett was appointed joint treasurer with Tadhg Crowley that December. (The budget to run club in 1974 was c.£7,400 and that was more than the price of a semi-detached house in an average estate such as Meadowlands!)
This great victory was just a little consolation for the dual players, John Barry, Garry Scollard, Mike McCarthy and Tommy ‘Bracker’ O’Regan, who had been so disappointed over losing the ‘68 (v Crotta) and ’69 (v Killarney) hurling finals.


Comments are closed.