Fine Gael Councillor Elected Mayor Of Kerry

Posted by


Mayor of Kerry, Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council, Cllr John Sheahan (FG). Photo By Domnick Walsh

FINE Gael councillor in the Killarney Municipal District, John Sheahan, has been elected Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council at the annual meeting of the County Council today.

Cllr Sheahan, who has been a member of the Council since 2007, was chosen by his colleagues to serve as Cathaoirleach for the next twelve months.

Cllr Patrick Connor-Scarteen (FG) has been elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach.

Speaking following his election, Cllr Sheahan, who succeeds Cllr Michael O’Shea (FF), said he was honoured to take up the role: ‘To become Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council is indeed a great privilege. It is one which I humbled to take on. I am very conscious that this is a role which relatively few people have occupied since Kerry County Council was established in 1899 so it is a position which I come to with great humility and respect for the role,’ he said.

Addressing his colleagues at County Buildings, the Cathaoirleach paid tribute to his predecessor, Cllr Michael O’Shea, and said: ‘I hope I will serve as a fair and effective Cathaoirleach for the twelve months ahead and I am sure that, with your support, we can achieve a lot in the coming period.’

The four Municipal Districts in the county also held their annual meetings today and the following were elected as Cathaoirligh/Leas-Cathaoirligh in their respective areas:

• Cathaoirleach of South and West Kerry Municipal District – Cllr Seamus Cosaí Fitzgerald (FG) / Leas-Cathaoirleach – Cllr Norma Moriarty (FF)

• Cathaoirleach of Killarney Municipal District – Cllr Niall Kelleher (FF) / Leas-Cathaoirleach – Cllr John Joe Culloty (FF)

• Cathaoirleach of Listowel Municipal District – Cllr John Lucid (FF) / Leas Cathaoirleach – Cllr Jimmy Moloney (FF)

• Mayor of Tralee – Cllr Norma Foley (FF) / Deputy Mayor – Cllr Graham Spring (Lab)

Comments are closed.