Mercy Mounthawk Basketballers Win All-Ireland Schools Title

Posted by


Mercy Mounthawk First Year Basketball team and coaches celebrate their All-Ireland title win.

MERCY Mounthawk’s 1st year boys team created history becoming the 1st boys team from the school to capture an All-Ireland A schools title on Sunday at University of Limerick.

They defeated a St Pats of Castleisland side on a scoreline of 29 to 26 in a nail biting contest, capping off a magical weekend for the team where they won six games in two days to be crowned champions.

On Saturday the boys played St Joseph’s of Galway,  Ard Scoil Ris of Dublin and Summerhill of Sligo in their group games. They won all three games convincingly and was a tough day which required the help of all players with some great performances.

Continued below…


This set up a quarter-final match up on Sunday with Oranmore of Galway a team they had lost two a week earlier in the All-Ireland Cup Final.However, Mounthawk prevailed by the narrowest of margins after a tough contest.

The semi-final match up was an all Kerry affair vs Rathmore. It was a game of high quality with some great shooting on both sides. The game was close until the end with Mounthawks offence power final winning out by five points and setting up another all-Kerry affair final with St Pats.

The opening quarter was very low scoring with neither side pushing ahead. The last quarter was nervewracking for all involved and with just over a minute to go the sides were deadlocked.

Mounthawk seemed to find an extra gear in the tank and some huge shots by Mikey Mc Carthy and big Free Throws by Sean Pollmann – Daamen sealed the sweet victory for Mercy Mounthawk.

The coaches thanked all the players who have been training together since September and a special word to their parents who supported them in the final on Sunday and who dropped the boys to training on school breaks and weekends.

The team enjoyed a great welcome home to the school on Monday morning. Well done to everyone involved.

The Team 

Sean Pollmann- Daamen

Tim Pollmann – Daamen

Mikey Mc Carthy

Daniel Bowler

Joe Reidy

Conor O Brien

John Feely

Odhran Pierce

Brian Mc Elligott

Bryan Godley

Jack Dakissia


John Dowling

Lyndsey Moriarty

Jimmy Diggins

Comments are closed.