Milltown Man Elected Cathaoirleach Of Kerry County Council

Posted by
Il Forno Comedy 1


Domnick Walsh

Cllr Brendan Cronin Cathaoirleach of Killarney Municipal District , Cllr Terry O’Brien Mayor of Tralee , Cllr Aoife Thornton Cathaoirleach of Listowel Municipal District , Cllr Michael O’Shea Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council and Cllr John Francis FlynnCathaoirleach of South and West Municipal District. Photo By Domnick Walsh

FIANNA Fail councillor, Michael D O’Shea, was elected the new Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council this afternoon.

The Milltown man succeeds Tralee Municipal District councillor, Cllr Pat McCarthy, in the chair.

Cllr O’Shea was co-opted on to the Council in 1994 and has remained there since, consistently being re-elected making him the third longest serving councillor in the county.

His nomination was proposed by Cllr Jimmy Moloney and seconded by Cllr Norma Foley. The voting finished 27-7 in favour of Cllr O’Shea over Sinn Féin’s Cllr Pa Daly.

Cllr O’Shea represented the Killorglin Electoral Area until 1999 and represented the Dingle Electoral Area until 2014.  He has been councillor in the South and West Kerry Municipal District since then, and was Cathaoirleach of the MD in 2014/15.

A publican by trade, Cllr O’Shea’s wife Susan, is a grand-daughter of the former Kerry South TD, Timothy ‘Chub’ O’Connor.

The election of Municipal District Cathaoirligh and Mayors also took place this morning with Cllr Aoife Thornton of Fine Gael elected for the Listowel District,  Cllr John Francis Flynn of Fianna Fail in the South and West Kerry District, Cllr Brendan Cronin in Killarney and as reported earlier, Cllr Terry O’Brien in Tralee.

Comments are closed.