Norma Expected To Change Town Chain For County Council One

Posted by


Mayor Norma Foley.

THE current Mayor of Tralee, Norma Foley, will hand over her Mayoral chain to Labour’s Graham Spring later this month.

However, the weight off her neck and shoulders won’t last long, as it is expected it will be replaced later that day by the Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council chain of office.

The Kerry County Council and Municipal District AGMs take place on Monday, June 25 and the Mayors for the coming 12 months will be elected.

Because of agreements between political parties made following the 2014 local elections, the destinations of the chains are pretty much decided already.

Continued below…


Cllr Graham Spring will become Tralee’s ‘First Citizen’, taking the office for the first time.

Cllr Graham Spring.

It’s expected the next Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council will be Fianna Fáil’s Norma Foley after the vote at County Buildings.

Meanwhile, Fine Gael’s Mike Kennelly is expected to be the next Cathaoirleach of the Listowel Municipal District, while current Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council, John Sheahan, will become the Killarney Mayor.

Fianna Fáil’s Norma Moriarty is predicted to become Cathaoirleach in the South and West Kerry Municipal District.

Comments are closed.