Rugby: McElligott Cup Goes West For First Time In Over 85 Years

Posted by


Corca Dhuibhne Rugby 1

The victorious Rugbaí Chorca Dhuibhne side who won the McElligott Cup.

Rugbaí Chorca Dhuibhne 29

Castleisland RFC 25

ON a warm spring Sunday afternoon at O’Dowd Park Tralee, the McElligott Cup Final between Rugbaí Chorca Dhuibhne  and Castleisland RFC  was decided for 2015.

History was made as the Cup last went west in 1929. The long wait is now over. This keenly contested local derby final between these arch rivals was a fine display of open fast running skilful rugby played with spirit and spice in near perfect conditions.

In a high-scoring game, Rugbaí Chorca Dhuibhne emerged victorious much to the disappointment of the Munster Division 2 Island squad who were fancied to take the spoils.

Muintir Iarthair Ciarraí are having a fine season contesting  Munster League and Cup Finals in their Division, today’s victory under the guidance of Manager John Holstead, Head Coach Colm O’Shea will be celebrated until La Féile Bealtaine.

A hat trick of trys by Ciarán O’Coileáin was the highlight of the day,ably assisted by Alan Devane who got RCD’s fourth try, Shane Griffin landed three penalties to take the McElligott Cup back West.

Congratulations to Ireland and Europe’s most westerly located rugby club.

Comments are closed.